We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
L'Oudon, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Andrea C
Broughton, Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Total Perfection”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

La Lavoir was a truly charming cottage, with beautiful gardens, and views. Catherine, the owner, could not have been any more helpful, and the comfort of her guests is clearly a priority. We have already booked again for next year, and I would definitely recommend to family, and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Merci beaucoup Andrea. I look forward to sharing La Hoguette with you again next year, and I hope you will get to see and know Normandy during your holiday, not just garages...! All the best, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james w
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good holiday”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Great place to stay, the only negative point to make is that after being on a long journey, 12 hours, the introduction and welcome which lasted around an hour was not what we wanted, all you want to do is put the kettle on and collapse. Great place for dogs and made welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: Poor kettle
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
I apologize that you did not appreciate my effort to greet you, especially our stroll in the orchard, which allowed your 2 dogs to roam free after your long journey. I was following my 24-year experience that guests appreciate being made feel at home, and introduced to an area they may not know well. I hope your week at the Cottage provided the needed quiet comfortable rest. Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen K
Lambourn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Really enjoyed our week in the cottage. The location is very peaceful, but not too far away from amenities in nearby towns. The sunsets were incredible. Catherine the owner was very welcoming, helpful and friendly.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCross01
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly and wonderful location.”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The gite was in a lovely quiet location and with a huge orchard for the dogs to run in. It was very well equipped with a lovely large garden. Katherine, who owns the gites, is so friendly and helpful but believes in leaving the guests to their own privacy.

We love to travel with our dogs and Katherine is so wonderfully dog friendly.and so we would not hesitate to recommend this gite to anyone travelling with dogs.

It was lovely, we will be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large garden and the orchard
Liked least: The square glass table in the sitting room that we kept running into!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff L
Lampeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small cottage, well equipped, delightful situation.”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a little difficulty finding the cottage from the directions, but only because we lacked the confidence to keep going until the next sign. The contract and inventory is rather detailed when you have made a long trip to get there and just want to settle down and unpack. Catherine is a delightful host and being able to converse freely in English is a blessing. The stairs are very steep and would not suit anyone less than agile, and the head room in the bedroom needs care. The private gardens to front and rear are beautiful for sitting out and the view is gorgeous. The cottage is situated in a backwater which gives a very away from it all feeling and yet Lisieux is only 30 mins drive, and Livarot half that. The accommodation is very dog-friendly.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing