We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Small cottage, well equipped, delightful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
L'Oudon, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jeff L
Lampeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small cottage, well equipped, delightful situation.”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a little difficulty finding the cottage from the directions, but only because we lacked the confidence to keep going until the next sign. The contract and inventory is rather detailed when you have made a long trip to get there and just want to settle down and unpack. Catherine is a delightful host and being able to converse freely in English is a blessing. The stairs are very steep and would not suit anyone less than agile, and the head room in the bedroom needs care. The private gardens to front and rear are beautiful for sitting out and the view is gorgeous. The cottage is situated in a backwater which gives a very away from it all feeling and yet Lisieux is only 30 mins drive, and Livarot half that. The accommodation is very dog-friendly.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerWats...
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bijoux cottage in tranquil rural spot”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We decided we really should take our dog to France, and found this to be an ideal location at around 4 hours drive from the Chunnel. We were made very welcome by Catherine, who provided us with lots of useful information (including which vet to go to for the mandatory worming tablets). The cottage is set in pleasant rolling countryside within range of a number of small towns. We preferred Argentan, with reasonable shopping and good cafes. We also enjoyed trips to Honfleur and to the seaside at Merville. The cottage is small but fine for two plus dog. Gardens are lovely. We hope to return some time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eyedoclon...
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely, tranquil little gite - well worth a visit”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Looks much larger on the photographs than in real life but we were delighted to find that it is incredibly comfortable and has it's own garden within the grounds of the main property. The owner showed us all the fresh herbs in the garden that we were welcome to help ourselves to, along with all you can eat apples and pears. Kitchen area is small but has everything you could possibly need (even a terrific milk frother).

The bed is extremely comfortable - we slept better than ever - and there is no light/noise pollution to speak of.

The owner is very helpful and knowledgeable about where to eat. Most of the little surrounding towns had market days - we would go into the market each day to buy what we need. Livarot seems to be the best but we found the others charming and full of lovely produce - and a fraction of the price that we would pay in the UK.

If you are taking dogs with you from the UK the owner can arrange an appointment with her veterinarian for the pre return checks & worming tablets. We were very impressed with the practice that we went to. And so much cheaper than London!

We very much enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. Local towns are very quiet at night so take some DVD's if you want entertainment in the evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham S
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A most delightful gite and a wonderful hostess and her companions Flambeau, Arielle, and Eloi. We had a magic weeks holiday very restful lovely countryside. Catherine was very helpful as our French is hopeless and she was a mine of information. Nearly took Flambeau home. Very highly recommended and the directions easy to follow with lots of signposts as one gets near to La Hoguette. Do not get confused with the village of the same name a little way south.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hostess
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quite
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing