We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Large interesting castle with multiple layers of history

A good and interesting place to spend a few hours. Children can explore and there is a play park... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
pboroman
,
Peterborough
via mobile
Excellent day out

Beautiful castle and grounds. Tea room and souvenir shop staff beyond lovely. Visited on a bold... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Tourist738028
via mobile
Read all 1 271 reviews
  
Reviews (1 271)
Filter reviews
1 271 results
Traveller rating
694
419
104
29
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
419
104
29
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english heritage audio guide riding school gift shop overflow car park civil war well worth a visit surrounding countryside wall walk interesting history couple of hours entry fee information boards play area interesting place sunny day riding house
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 1 271 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Bolsover Castle is situated in a prominent position overlooking the surrounding countryside, thus it's incredibly spectacular as you approach from the nearby village.

It has a very small car park, and a much larger spill over one, but the signage for this additional parking is bad, resulting in a tour of the village to find parking.

The castle itself is interesting, and has excellent views. Entry is around £11, plus an additional charge for an audio guide. I feel you really do need the audio guide, but it seems wrong to charge “twice”, why not increase the entry charge slightly, and include the audio guide.

The one volunteer room guide we encountered was excellent, and very helpful, but that was the only one we saw in the whole visit. I understand that volunteers are hard to get, but maybe English Heritage need to employ more room guides (you do pay to go in after all).

Good quality coffee/cakes to complete your visit!

1  Thank Stu151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Historic Properties Steward at Bolsover Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Stu151
Thank you for your review of Bolsover Castle. We are sorry for the parking inconvenience and hope this did not effect your visit greatly. The audio-guides are included in the admission price and are offered complimentary on arrival. We are happy that our guide was helpful and improved your visit. Regarding the volunteers we do try and have three on-site each day, but sometimes this isn't possible. We are glad you enjoyed the coffee and cake and the cafe staff will be very happy to hear you enjoyed it. We hope you do visit again and we really appreciate your feedback.
Thanks
The Bolsover Castle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We approached the castle from the village below, which is dominated by the castle on its ridge.
You get wonderful views across the plain below from the ramparts, nowadays with the M1 just visible in the distance.
This visit we spent time in the Little Castle, which is a gem. The audio guide helps a lot in appreciating the wealth of background, much of which we would miss otherwise.
There was a show of the dressage horses, but unfortunately we did not have sufficient time to enjoy that (£2 surcharge) - perhaps next time.

Thank HJPinBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Historic Properties Steward at Bolsover Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi HJPinBeds
Thanks for your lovely review of Bolsover Castle. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to the site and found the audio-guides helpful throughout your visit. Our Cavendish Horse shows are on schedule until the end of September, so please come again as the show is very good. We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you
The Bolsover Castle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Excellent day spent walking around the castle and exploring different sections. Dog friendly and plenty of picnic tables. Fabulous views across Derbyshire.

Thank jeanwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Historic Properties Steward at Bolsover Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi jeanwales
Thank you for your lovely review of the site. We are glad you had a great day exploring the grounds and taking in the views. We hope you visit us again soon.
Thanks
The Bolsover Castle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Parking for the castle requires some exploration as the designated car park is small and I guess full most of the time. However, a brief tour around the town, not helped by signage, revealed an overflow car park in the grounds of the castle. Sadly the extravagance of Ben of Hardwick and his family meant that the castle was largely abandoned in favour of other stately homes in the area and large parts of the castle are now derelict although retain an eerie charm. The "keep" or Little Castle has been well restored and is of much interest. Do not miss the audio visual guide which is excellent and free. There are stunning wall and ceiling decorations, interesting fireplaces and excellent views. The gardens are limited but have a peaceful ambience.

Thank mikeandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Historic Properties Steward at Bolsover Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi mikeandros
Thank you for your review of the castle and we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We are happy to hear that appreciated the interior architecture of the site and that you found the audio-guides useful. We really hope that you visit Bolsover Castle again.
Thanks
The Bolsover Castle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We took my Dad and Mum to Bolsover Castle for Fathers day, the first site of the castle from the road approaching seeing it on the hill is spectacular, parking at the castle is sparse but there are a couple of car parks in the village, it costs £12.50 for non english heritage member adults but is well worth it the castle is beautiful with some fantastic architecture, the views are also spectacular it is well worth a visit.

Thank ldgp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Historic Properties Steward at Bolsover Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi ldgp14
Thanks for your lovely review of the castle, we are glad you had a good visit on site. We are glad you enjoyed the site and spectacular views and architecture. We really appreciate your feedback and hope you visit again soon.
Thanks
The Bolsover Castle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews