We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fathers day visit”
Review of Bolsover Castle

Bolsover Castle
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Bolsover
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With spectacular views over Derbyshire, the fairy-tale Stuart mansion, Bolsover Castle, was designed to entertain and impress. Its reputation for revelry lives on as we now entertain you and your family. Wander the lavish rooms of the Little Castle, explore the romantic ruined terrace range, and delight in the views from the wall walk. Start your visit in the exhibition in the Riding House then run wild in extensive grounds (and fun play area).
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We took my Dad and Mum to Bolsover Castle for Fathers day, the first site of the castle from the road approaching seeing it on the hill is spectacular, parking at the castle is sparse but there are a couple of car parks in the village, it costs £12.50 for non english heritage member adults but is well worth it the castle is beautiful with some fantastic architecture, the views are also spectacular it is well worth a visit.

Thank ldgp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Historic Properties Steward at Bolsover Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi ldgp14
Thanks for your lovely review of the castle, we are glad you had a good visit on site. We are glad you enjoyed the site and spectacular views and architecture. We really appreciate your feedback and hope you visit again soon.
Thanks
The Bolsover Castle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"english heritage"
in 184 reviews
"audio guide"
in 101 reviews
"riding school"
in 59 reviews
"gift shop"
in 57 reviews
"overflow car park"
in 14 reviews
"civil war"
in 14 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 80 reviews
"surrounding countryside"
in 20 reviews
"wall walk"
in 51 reviews
"interesting history"
in 16 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 28 reviews
"entry fee"
in 14 reviews
"information boards"
in 13 reviews
"play area"
in 31 reviews
"interesting place"
in 13 reviews
"sunny day"
in 20 reviews
"riding house"
in 25 reviews
Filter

106 - 110 of 1 269 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2018

There is plenty of interest for adults but probably not much for children. Signage is not the best and the provided commentary devices were somewhat unreliable. Nevertheless the visitor is rewarded with some excellent views and an insight into life of the Cavedish family in the 17 century.

Thank shmuscroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Historic Properties Steward at Bolsover Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi shmuscroft
Thank you for your review of Bolsover Castle. We do have a play-area for children and we also have entertainment on for children of all ages in the school holidays. We are sorry that the audio-guides were not working at the best of their ability for you and hope this will not stop you from visiting again. We are happy you enjoyed the lovely views around site and hope that you come and admire the views again very soon.
Thanks
The Bolsover Castle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We live in Derbyshire nd have never visited!
Excellent place , very intesting. Audio guide very good, if a little cheesy. Prices average, but recommend you join English Heritage if you want to visit multiple sites.

Thank mickneale2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Historic Properties Steward at Bolsover Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi mickneale2003
Thank you for lovely review of the castle and we really appreciate it. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and we really hope to see you again.
Thank you
The Bolsover Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

This wonderful English Heritage property is a must when visiting the Peak District. Stepping in through the imposing gates one is transported back in time. The audio tour guides you gently through the castle and offers additional insights into the architecture, costume and exquisite wall paintings. We spent three hours here. Excellent

Thank ianmantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Historic Properties Steward at Bolsover Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi ianmantel
Thank you for your lovely review of Bolsover Castle and that the amazing site transported you back in time. We are pleased that you enjoyed the audio-guides and that they added to your visit. We hope you visit again very soon.
Thank you
The Bolsover Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

I visited the castle with my 4 year old grandson at half term in May when a special event was on. On 2 occasions we queued for archery and dressing up and we’re turned away as they! needed a break the time specified had not ended and at 4 years old was most upset. The archery queue was only him so I feel they could have let him have a go as we then waited 1 hour for them to start again, and never did dress up.
It would have been good to have more interactive items around the site for the younger visitors but the view from the top of the tower was great.
The play area was good and the refreshments were ok.

Thank jennyletten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishHeritageTA, Historic Properties Steward at Bolsover Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi jennyletten
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not get to enjoy the event to its fullest and hope the experience hasn't put you off from further visits. We hope to see you again very soon and your visit is more enjoyable.
Thank you
The Bolsover Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bolsover Castle also viewed

 
Elvaston, Derbyshire
Nottinghamshire, England
 

Been to Bolsover Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing