We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beyond expectation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Haut Champ

Le Haut Champ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Haut Champ
View from the Front Garden Gite Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Le Haut Champ
View from the Front Garden
Gite Entrance
Lounge with Traditional Features
A Touch of French Glamour
Dining Area
Kitchen
Traditional Meets Modern
Traditional French Fabric
A reminder of our resident Barn Owl
Les Arbres Bedroom
Traditional Features in Les Arbres Bedroom
Les Arbres Shower Room
Les Arbres Shower Room
La Selune Bedroom
La Selune Shower Room
La Selune Shower Room
Showers
View from the Bedrooms
Relax & Enjoy the Gite Terrace
View towards the Village
Our very own French Hen!
View across the Lane
Apple Blossom on Our Apple Trees
Apple Harvest at Le Haut Champ
Local Wildlife
Our Neighbours....
Our Local Town St Hilaire du Harcouët
Le Haut Champ
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Saint-Hilaire-du-Harcouet, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LeonV_UK
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beyond expectation”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of Simon and Anne and their beautiful gite for a week in May. It is sited in a wonderful countryside location with lots of interesting places to visit nearby. The gite was immaculately clean upon arrival and equipped with everything you could wish for to make for a comfortable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a comfortable home to go back to after a day's sightseeing
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ililili
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing peaceful gite”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

le haut champ is a peaceful relaxing wonderful place to enjoy a quite vaction and explore the area. Everything is new and spottless clean.it has a nice living room with wood burner and kitchen with micro, oven toaster washing machine and dishwasher. It has two bedrooms ,each with its own bathroom ( amazing water pressure) . Each of the bedrooms have its own stairs so its perfect for two couples. Each bedroom is very private.You also have an outside area just for you.
Ann and simon are very nice and helpful. And the gite has a booklet with lots of suggestions and pamphlets of what to do where to go or where to eat. They even have books to read if you wish. We traveles all around normandy and brittany from here.
You do need to know a few things:
You need to drive 5-10 minuths in the morning if you wish a fresh baguette or pastry.
the heating in the bedrooms is great. But in the living room you sometimes need to lit the wood burner. ( the first pack of wood is free)
They have wifi but its not unlimited. Its good for facebook mail and staff but you cant download pictures or watch movies on youtube.( but who wants that when you can watch the view?!)
The stairs to the bedrooms are steep so its not for young kids or old people.
To sum:I highly recomend this place .a home away for home to those who want a relaxing time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunset from the garden/windows
Liked least: The need to drive for baguettes in the morning ( so we bought them the night before) and to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Le Haut Champ made the perfect base for us to spend a few days relaxing in Normandy. The converted barn has been very tastefully done, with lovely beams and stone still in situ whilst having all the modern "essentials" such as a dishwasher and spotlessly clean, well kitted out kitchen. Anne and Simon could not have been more helpful, providing tips on where to visit, shop and eat, not to mention the delicious cake to welcome us on arrival.

The accommodation was very comfortable, and the bathrooms are particularly noteworthy as there is actually room to move! Titchy bathrooms in holiday properties is a bugbear of mine and it was lovely to not be cracking my elbows into the wall at every turn.

The location is fabulously peaceful, with practically no traffic on the road outside and just the local wildlife to listen to. A nesting Barn Owl was a particular treat.

We loved staying here and can recommend it as a base for anyone in need of recharging their batteries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, high standard of accommodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle A
Swadlincote, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful gîte, ideally located”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was really pleased when I arrived at Le Haut Champ. The gîte has been beautifully renovated, combining tradition and modernity. The kitchen is well-stocked and we able to prepare and cook meals comfortably. The lounge area has two comfy sofas and there is a dining table for 4. The weather was quite damp during our visit and we needed the fire everyday to warm up after a day exploring. Be aware that after the 1st basket logs have to purchased (we found Carrefour in Parigny the best value) so budget for this. The bedrooms are accessed by separate staircases (making this gîte unsuitable for those with young children) however our 10 year old loved having her own space. Both bedrooms have a good bed and the wardrobe space is plenty big enough for clothes and suitcases. Both bedrooms also have an en-suite with an excellent power shower.
The hosts are welcoming - the fire was lit and there was home made cake on arrival - but not at all intrusive. They are also knowledgeable about the area.
The gîte is ideally located in a quiet, peaceful countryside spot but easy to find and only 10 minutes from the market town of St Hillaire du Harcouet. We found destinations such as Mont St Michel and St Malo were within easy driving distance.
Having stopped at many gîtes over the past few years, this really is one of the best. Clean, well-equipped in a good location and at a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy W
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Bliss”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We returned for a second visit to Le Haut Champ to celebrate our wedding anniversary and in
every respect it was as good as our first. As before the gite was immaculate, well equipped and very comfortable. Ann and Simon made us very welcome. The countryside in autumn was beautiful and we will remember the utter peace, the wonderful night sky and hearing the owl nightly for a long time. Returning after great days out to light the log burner and the candles and open the wine was sheer bliss! Do try it for yourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Enjoyment of such a comfortable property
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing