We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect British Holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Southover

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
brand new hot tub!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Wroxham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Meg596
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect British Holiday.”
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We were already familiar with wroxham so we had the advantage of knowing that it had some very nice properties. As we past Eric swamp south over was clearly sign posted Infront of us and had ample at the rear. Stepping up on the decking with a great Jacuzzi, we could see the entrance to the boat house to our right sitting above it was a en suite bathroom and a games room. This was more like a beautiful contained flat. At the back door we were met by a lovely helpful lady who help us and showed us round. You walk into this place and are certainly not disappointed. Four good size bedrooms with 3 beautifully decorated bathrooms. The kitchen has everything you could ask for and the living/dining area is also decorated with plenty of class, real wood floors and comfortable seating sress. The view from the living room balcony is amazing, in fact the whole place is exceptional. But it is the little things that the owner has done that must be mentioned books, board games , binoculars to watch the wildlife and the other wildlife that surrounds this beautiful property. I think the thought and consideration that has been put into south over makes this a must for anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2017
Thank you so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison C
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for our family get together.”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had gales, snow, sunshine and rain. The front garden flooded in the surge spring tide. None of which bothered us, as the house was warm and cosy and we all had wellies. It comfortably slept 10 and the large table accommodated us for eating and socialising together.

The views were stunning and there was so much wildlife to watch. We had a resident heron, who seemed largely unfazed by our presence and Egyptian geese pottering about on the lawn. A family of swans did a quick visit and sheltered from the fast moving water. All this visible from the lounge area.

The hot tub was in almost constant use during the day, one of our party did a bit of fishing and others held an impromptu pool tournament.

The house itself was clean and well equipped and we all said that we would like to return.

Thank you: a great family weekend to remember.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Really pleased with this review ! Especially with the rough weather ! The crow family left the house spotless and we would love to welcome them back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadey556
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky property in delightful location”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Southover is such a lovely place to stay. The river views are just wonderful - especially first thing in the morning in autumn. And the cottage itself is warm, welcoming, comfortable and quirky, which all add to its charm. The kitchen is also very well equipped. Admittedly the cottage could do with a little tlc in parts but that really doesn't detract too much from its charms. It's all kept very clean (thanks to Sam who is very friendly and is there to greet you on your arrival) and the bathrooms are lovely. My friends and I had a wonderful week there as it is so well suited to a large group of people. The sitting, dining and kitchen areas are all part of one large airy room so no-one is ever cut off from the conversation. And the hot tub on the back deck and the use of the boat were definitely added bonuses. It was great for getting into to go food shopping - only five minutes away in Wroxham. Also the owner Robert is a pleasure to deal with and is very helpful. All in all a great success - we can't wait to go back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
Thanks so much tec is underway !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6050kate
1 review
“november stay”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

myself partner and 2 other couples and our young children stayed for a week in november.. the cottage is lovely and facilities are really good, the kitchen is well stocked with pots and pans, they have a washer and dryer and sky tv with all the channels.. one of the bedrooms is in a seprate annex with a pool room. the hot tub was great and seated 6 easily, we took the boat out a few times to the local village, my partner fished from the boat and also from the front garden.. overall the cottage does need a bit of tlc in places but we would happliy visit again, for what you get its good value for money. the house keeper was also friendly and gave us a good overview of the local village, boat and bits and bobs in the house. overall we would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thanks , we are updating bits and bobs after a busy year ! Be good to see you return !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loujuliet
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderful weekend staying at Southover for a family birthday celebration! The house is lovely- very spacious, sociable and comfortable. It is well equipped, attractive and the views are absolutely stunning. The location is beautiful and it was so fun and relaxing to potter up and down in the boat! We would certainly stay again and have already recommended it to friends! The only down side was that we were only there for 2 nights! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thanks ! Be good to see you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing