We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay , would love to return.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Southover

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
brand new hot tub!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Wroxham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
firestorm...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay , would love to return.”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We had a great time as part of a large family group. The house is just as expected and was very clean.
Fantastic location , sitting out on the deck with a glass of wine watching the boats go by was a great way of relaxing. You will need a car to get about , but everything is close by.
The hottub was ok but a bit dated and the boat was only a 5 seater not big enough for all of us. The only thing that didn't live up to expectations were the power/ steam showers that only worked as a normal shower. Also the games room needed updating .
We would all like to return at sometime if the price was right.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Boat was too small
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca A
Vevey, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sociable house for groups”
Reviewed 9 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Southover for our annual girls weekend away this year. We were a group of 9, and the house provided a great sociable living space. The nice big square dining table, and three large comfy sofas, meant that everyone was able to sit comfortably in each area, and the kitchen was big enough to cook for big groups easily. The view from the living room is lovely, we really enjoyed being right on the water. The local village (Wroxham) has a couple of nice pubs, and we easily found everything we needed in the shops/supermarket there.

Be warned that the Broads Authorities are quite strict about the number of people you have on the boat, and that the locals will call and complain if they spot you breaking any of the rules. It is a shame that they will only allow 5 people on the boat at any one time, but the boat itself was easy to run and good fun.

The Annex bedroom warmed up quickly with the heater provided, and was quite cosy even in pretty cold outdoor temperatures. The hot tub was good fun and VERY hot!

There are a few points that the owners need to address regarding the water pressure in the showers and how easily the drains block - which we will feedback directly. But none of these were major issues and overall we loved the house! The owners were very helpful and always ready at the end of the phone for any questions we had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open-plan living space
Liked least: The showers and slightly smelly drains
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay, can't wait to go back....”
Reviewed 23 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful communication with the owners, very pleased with all aspects. We had a lovely week away with friends and family and would definitely recommend and return!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views and the living space which is chic and comfy
Liked least: The bad smell and the blocked drains. Object to the coldness of the annex with a heater that doesn't work.
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Apr 2014
All the other guests were very happy this lady did not make the booking a phone call would have allowed me to correct any shortage of toilet paper this lady blocked her WC with face wipes hence the drain smell maybe that's where the toilet paper went! The beds are admixture of firm and soft. I have extra heaters if needed but somebody had fiddled with heating and cut of f boat house.... I really wish I'd been called, we can react very quickly to any problems our priority is for our guests to enjoy themselves
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
schnauzer...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tatty and unpleasant owner.”
Reviewed 10 December 2011 for a stay in May 2011
5
people found this review helpful

I booked this property for a group of friends to celebrate my 50th . We planned a fancy dress cruise for one day.When we arrived the 12 seater boat pictured and described had been replaced with a smaller one that leaked and was unsafe for our party of 10. When I complained to the owner he accused us of putting a hole in it.. The bathrooms were tatty and the showers wouldnt work beyond a trickle in a couple of the rooms The hot tub had a broken lid and was grimy. The water quality wasnt checked once during our weeks stay.. There was often an unpleasant smell of drains ...The soft furnishings are shabby and the whole exterior needs a tidy up and lick of paint. The outdoor furniture needs replacing. ALL IN ALL A GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT NOT HELPED BY THE OWNERS UNPLEASANT AND UNHELPFUL MANNER.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: tatty, grubby and unhelpful owner
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2012
I would like to respond to this inaccurate review. In 5 years of renting our property we have never come across guests like this. They caused several hundred pounds worth of damage to the property and were extremely rude and abusive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing