We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
406
151
48
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
151
48
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub monmouth room four poster bed old building beer garden fish and chips low ceilings like stepping back in time across the road main building steeped in history evening meal spacious room one night stay my partner well worth a visit dining room
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

I went with a group of friends on a sunny Saturday. It is a breathtakingly stunning building that hasn't changed in hundreds of years. It is like stepping back in time. I've been a couple of times before but it is still amazing to see. I had a fish finger sandwich and chips which was very good and all the food our group ate was amazing. We sat in the beautiful beer garden overlooking the village church, cricket pitch and the stunning hills behind.

There is a narrow lane at the side of the pub which takes you down to the little church which is a nice gentle walk after a good meal.

I would definitely recommend a visit.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights when wanting to visit Bath and loved absolutely everything. Our room (the Coombes) was so perfect and comfortable. Felt like we had really stepped back in time. We ate at the Inn both nights as the meals were so good.
Even walking around the village was such a delight. The George Inn will be very hard to beat from now on. So perfect. Loved it!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank nelley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Comfortable, spotless room. Good hot shower and plenty of wardrobe space. Lovely biscuits with tea, coffee etc replenished every day.
Full English breakfast with good quality ingredients. Plenty of choice on dinner and lunch menu with small plates available. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We parked our car in their underground car park for the duration of our stay and used the excellent bus service (stop just outside) for visiting Bath and Bristol. Would definitely stay again when visiting Somerset.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19 which was very quiet
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

What a find.. friends who live locally,took us to the George for a pint and i loved it. The features of this building take you back in time. There is so much to sit and admire about it. I especially loved the huge fireplaces, hence the photograph. Apparently it the best place to finish a long walk and sit infront of a blazing fire in the winter. The beer is good too.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank tooroughforafriedegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Passed the George last trip to bath and wanted to go and try it this year whilst staying in bath , so we booked for fathers day dinner at this amazing old grade 1 listed building full of character and charm , friendly staff and fab home cooked Sunday roast that was very tasty none of the usual frozen food, would definitely go back and would love to stay there one day .

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jules3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews