We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
18
36
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
36
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common areas the bus edges baths stop dinner japan
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a lot of ryokans during our Japan stay. We stayed here on our first kumano hiking night.
This is a traditional ryokan with the perfect location. We had a huge room, with its own toilet and basin and the onsen was lovely (indoors and outdoors).

The negatives were dinner wasn't very tasty !
My pillow had hundreds of little heads (like a bean bag- noisy and very uncomfortable to sleep on)
The bento box we received for lunch the following day was not made in house (and not very tasty)

Overall enjoyable experience nonetheless just not worth the exorbitant price

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Silversparrow3427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

You may be surprised as I was when you walk in the place. It doesn't look like a fancy place. It looks old and faded. BUT the food and service are worth more than what you pay for the stay. So it's as if you get to stay for free.
The dinner, served in your room, is as beautiful as it is awesome. Japanese gastronomy presented to you in a most gracious and courteous way. The breakfast is just as grand and oh so Japanese.
The onsen is hot with water that comes out of the earth with a touch of sulphur.
Finally, I cannot repeat enough how great the service was. Kudos Yonomine Onsen. And thanks again ;-)

Room Tip: These are typical Japanese rooms - you get the full Japanese experience
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

This was our third ryokan experience, and to be honets, it lacked a bit compared to the other two (price was similar). While the building is quaint and charming, both the common areas and our room are in need of some renovations, and there wasn't any heating outside the rooms, so you had to endure the cold to go to the baths.
There was 2 outdoor, 2 indoor and 2 private baths. The outdoor and indoor baths alternate between genders. Indoor wooden baths were nice enough, but the biggest one was also a little bit cold, and outdoor baths were great. We took a look at one of the private baths and decided to skip it, it was small and nothing too exciting.
Food was good and abundant. Dinner was an assortment of several plates, including sashimi and Kumano beef shabu shabu, and we chose the japanese breakfast, which was also very good and again, plenty of food.
Customer service could have been better. Upon arrival, we were shown the baths and our room by an elderly lady, maybe the owner. She spoke very limited English and rushed us through the explanation, even failing to point out one of the outdoor baths. I would have prefer to be shown around by one of the front desk staff who spoke English quite well, and in a more relaxed way. After check out, they stored our backpacks while we did some sightseeing, but when we came back for them and discovered that we had to wait over 1 hour for our bus, they didn't offer us to wait inside the ryokan. Luckily it was a nice day (but also a little cold) and we just killed the time walking around the village, but I think it is common courtesy to offer your recent guests a cup of tea and warm place to sit in that kind of situation.
The ryokan is just in front of the bus stop and with good access to the Kumano Kodo trails, but then, every lodging in the village is close to the bus stop and have good access to the trails, as the village is tiny.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Seila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

This was our favourite hotel on the Kumano Kodo Trek. It had wonderful traditional baths - both inside and out and we all had a great time soaking away the pain of the walk. I will upload some photos to share of the beautiful baths. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

This was a great experience! We stayed here 3 nights and had it as our base for hiking parts of the Kumano Kodo. The staff was super friendly, they only spoke a limited amount of English but it was no problem. The breakfast and dinners were amazing! 15 small courses with wonderful goods. Even though we stayed multiple nights we received a different variety every day!

We stayed in a room with own western style toilet. Showers are done by the onsens. The onsens were also very nice! They have both indoor and outdoor shared onsens as well as two "family" private onsens. The private onsens felt a little bit more run down, but at the same time very authentic. The place in general seemed like it needed a bit of renovation in the corridors etc, but the rooms was fantastic quality. The ryokan has its history so it just adds to the charm! I for sure recommend it!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eemmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews