We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
16
10
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
10
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent food hot springs the river outdoor onsen stayed here the owner kumano kodo pools timetable comfort luggage dishes guests futon english dinner japan
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018

This is our second hiking trip with Okujapan. First one was the Nakasendo trail. We had an amazing time and the Ryokans and Minshukus we stayed in were very nice , especially the 2nd and 4th night. We are now on the Kumano Kodo trail and this is our 3rd night on the trail. This Ryokan " Kameya Ryokan came highly recommended and we were advised to stay 2 nights. It is an old Ryokan but just to be clear, we've stayed in older ones on the Nakasendo trail and this Kameya ryokan is not acceptable as far as I'm concerned. I have no idea that peeling wallpapers everywhere, cracks on walls and cracks in sinks are considered charming. Water pressure is so low that it took me and my friend forever to shower. The ladies in charge, I have to say are very enthusiastic and helpful however, I can't help but feel as if we've been "HAD"!!! Like I said, we've stayed in much older Ryokans on walks BUT this one is such a terrible disappointment. Anyone reading this, please check out the photos below. Thsi may be pretty and charming for some but, it's an utter disappointment for us.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, please!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCFoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

This is our third time at Kamey ryokan. The owner is lovely, she is like a cool granny. Her English is very good. She gave us "our room" and we didn't have neighbours, she was kind enough to set guests apart from each other for more comfort! She will help with bus timetables...etc!

Food is OUTSTANDING. The shabu-shabu on the second night was the best we've tried. Breakfast very hearty! Yes, it's not the newest place, but it TOP clean and so calm. I haven't felt that relaxed in years, we were so happy staying here again. If passing by or walking the Kumano, take the time to go to the river/ hot springs and do take the dinner & breakfast option.

Will come again if in the area!

PS: for hikers: no need to book with Kumano Travel the expensive luggage service. The owner will help you with TA-Q-BIN, which is a Japanese luggage shipping service, very efficient and half price.

Room Tip: second floor!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chandraviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stayed here whilst doing the Kumano Kodo walk and thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights in this charming Ryokan. We had a clean spacious room with tatami matting and comfortable bedding. Our hospitable host was very accomodating. Evening meals were fabulous and delicious - 2 completely different meals on the 2 nights we were there. Great Japanese breakfast finished off with coffee. The hot springs in the river were wonderful for relaxing in after a long walk.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

What a lovely way to experience the genuine kindness, courtesy and hospitality of Japan! This old-fashioned ryokan looks over the river, 50 metres from the hot springs that bubble up into round pools created from the pebbles into outdoor onsen. The ladies who keep this place really look after guests, driving us to and from the Kumano Kodo trail, arranging meals around our preferred timetable, including lunchboxes of sticky rice balls and fruit, always ready to explain dishes or customs, provide maps, and generally help us to enjoy the traditional Japanese accommodation and food. The rooms are traditional tatami with futons, equipped with air conditioning and basins, shared toilet facilities along the corridor (remember the toilet slipper etiquette!)The upstairs rooms probably have the better views. Dinners were fascinating and unusual, traditionally prepared with fresh ingredients some of which we cooked in pots at the table. I can take or leave tofu, and find some sashimi a bit chewy, but there was plenty of other choice and we retired with full stomachs! But the real delight were the ryokan ladies, who were endlessly patient with our attempts at Japanese and unfailingly helpful, cheerful and sweet. The onsen in the river on a rainy day are also quite something - much better than a hot tub! Kumano Kodo also a treat, definitely a very special place.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank simone1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We stayed here after a 22km hike from Tsugizakura-oji to Hongu, in pouring rain across three steep mountain passes. It was a most welcome relief to arrive!!! The staff were most helpful and friendly, even setting up a drying room for our group to dry our wet gear and washing. The tatami rooms were comfortable and warm, the bath was nice and hot and dinner was delicious. The bento box they prepared for the next day's hike to Noguchi was a highlight of the trip, with an added bonus of local mandarins. This place is on the river and it is a short walk to the place where you can bathe in the hot springs by the river. Obviously it is also accessible by road and I highly recommend it if you are visiting this area.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewcK1965JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews