We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
53
40
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
40
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely view onsen water enjoyed our stay nice baths table tennis multi course meal the bus minute walk a great place to stay private onsen kumano kodo sashimi traditional japanese room rice sitting area wi fi two nights
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

If you compare to other ryokans on the Kumano Kodo, this one does not dazzle. It is a little worn, the food is not as good, and the service not as attentive. The location is fantastic but if the smell of sulfur is no your thing, run away.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here on the Kumano Kodo trail. As others have observed the hotel is not modern or renovated in any way but we found the service great, the room wonderfully comfortable and spacious with views of the mountains and river, the onsen pleasant and the walks to Yunomine village and other onsen villages a nice easy walking distance. We enjoyed being slightly out of the village and having better views and extra space. Would recommend.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DonnaandDaves99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Let's face it, look at this place from the road and it looks like a crumbling relic from East Germany during the Cold War. But once you're inside, it's fantastic. The staff arecso friendly and attentive, dinner is to die for, the onsen is fabulous. I agree with everything Natasha says below - our experience was every bit as good. Five stars.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ColinRichardBowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Room is not great. But they made up with fantastic staff. All of them are so helpful and speak good English. Indoor onsen is ordinary and too hot for comfort. End up have to use the outdoor onsen. No sauna. Their breakfast and dinner are not a lot but very interesting.
Room is dated and old. Rather small living area and toilet. However, fridge is well stock with sake, beer, juices and water. Also have a freezer section. Wifi is stable and runs throughout the place.
Bus stop is just below the hotel. You've to walk up about 50m. Maybe not so suitable for aged people who have difficulty hiking up a little hill.
If I'm doing Kumano trail, I'll come back and stay here again.

Room tip: Room 31 is quiet and nice view at balcony.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperShan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely friendly hotel. The onsen is excellent and the food is great. The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. I left my cable in my room and they found it and sent it on to me, without my asking. Very helpful.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank X7536PYsimonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews