We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
50
43
15
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
43
15
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river half board great location for hiking rooms are large japanese style spoke very little english nice room ryokan experience other guests rice hot water the bus gravel baths meals onsen courses
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The ryokan overlooks the Kawayu river which sprouts hot springs when you dig into the river bed. That's the novelty of this place.

We took the traditional ryokan room (if you stay in a ryokan, you must experience the traditional style rooms) which was spacious and pleasant with a wonderful balcony view. The ryokan itself has indoor and nice outdoor onsen, and serves great traditional meals. Meals are served in private rooms on the ground floor.

The reception staff spoke very little English but we got by with our requests.

Accessibility may not be so convenient but we drove and there were ample parking lots. The famed Kumano Kodo trail is just a 10 min drive away.

Room tip: I think all rooms face the river but go for the ryokan room. It has a private toilet and bath.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catesoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

The little village where the hotel is located is quite remote from the big touristy stuff and offers good opportunities for hikes and relax along a beautiful stream.
The hotel has large Japanese style rooms which are very comfortable and where you also get served a great local dinner.
The outdoor Onsen is great and convenient . When we were there it was almost always empty and peaceful.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank snow_on_the_ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We stayed in a lovely Deluxe Twin Room with a private open-air two-person onsen on the balcony, one of three western-style rooms in the 31-room hotel. The room was a generous 50 sq metre, with dark wooden floors. Modern amenities in a historic accommodation. The hotel has been operated by the same family for 13 generations. Free parking and free wifi is available throughout the hotel. There are indoor and outdoor onsen, including open-air baths which can be reserved for private use at a charge. Japanese-style swimsuits can be rented from the front desk (or bring your own) if you want to venture into the public onsen set in the Oto River opposite the hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and speak English. Comprehensive written instructions in English are provided as well, including a walking/jogging map of the area. Half-board included a delicious 12-course Japanese dinner and a choice of Japanese or western breakfast. Aircon, fridge, safe and electric kettle in room. The rooms are not numbered, but have different names from nature for each room. Despite being beside a main road, double-glazing for the balcony glass kept the noise out. Warrants a 5-star rating, even though the towels are typical Japanese towels, and not the fluffy towels found in western hotels. We enjoyed our stay at the ryokan.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LCWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Well, where do I start? Check in was smooth after booking through Bookings.com - easy compared to the challenges we have had with Japanese hotel websites in english in the past (this is our 7th personal visit to Japan).. We were provided with an english list of instructions and guidelines as the most experienced english speaker was not on shift. No problem - check in was smooth, we ordered dinner and breakfast in advance and were professionally shown to our room. The room was spacious, with nice wooden floors, the best beds in a long time, fluffy doonas, nice toiletries, a wet room that led to our private onsen on the balcony which we used morning and night - watching the stars, fire flies and listening to the laughter from the senninburo (seasonal river onsen) forced us to relax - as a busy executive being in nature which is so appreciated made me relax instantly. Walking through the village, with locals offering greetings and seeing local shrines, free spring water, rustic bridges and friendly pets along the way also added to the charm. The Ryokan also has a number of it's own indoor and outdoor baths. The Kaiseki meals were nicely prepared and served in a private room (we didn't expect this and felt very special) , reflecting local produce (lobster miso for example), and more than anyone could reasonably want. While swimsuits were required in the river onsen for mixed bathing, we did notice a few "cheeky chappies" before 8am and after 8pm "return to nature"....Only an hour away are nice 1/2 day trips to Natchi Falls (Japan's highest waterfalls with early morning Shinto rituals to be seen), Shingu for affordable shopping and other coastal villages worthy of exploring. A unique and wonderful place to stay...As a foreigner who wants to enjoy a local ryokan stay, with an onsen/bathing experience, you will find this welcoming, and a wonderful cultural experience..have no fear - you will be made comfortable here :)

Date of stay: February 2016
3  Thank MidgieTich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We spent three nights at Fujiya. It was the ryokan experience we had dreamed of. First class service, a spacious Japanese room and food made in heaven. The fish dinner that was delivered to our room was so overly decadent and delicious, we don't expect to have anything comparable in the future. The outside river onsen is fun. You can build your own pool and adjust the temperature. We were traveling with our baby and were happy about this opportunity, as traditional Japanese onsen (like Fujiya's) are too hot for children. Fujiya's staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Their service includes a shuttle to and from Kumano Kodo.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Florentine555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews