We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1 327)
Filter reviews
1 327 results
Traveller rating
764
453
92
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
764
453
92
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip rock formations figures curitiba guide bus furnas camera brazil
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1 327 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The park is very interesting, there are two options of trips. Both of them require some walking so I wouldn't advise to bring small children. You can take beautiful pictures and there is a guide to help you go through the track. I wouldn't recommend to go on cold or rainy weather since it's a very open space.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Jaqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

The park is interesting, something not usual to see around in Brazil. Actually, I believe it's the only one of this kind in the country. This is the reason I rated it 4stars, for being different. Me and my husband enjoyed the walk on the trail, which is short and easy, and I took some nice pictures of the giant rocks, but the kids (9 and 12) weren't interested at all.
The park is well maintained, clean restrooms, and the buses that take you to the trails run is short intervals.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank mtbaraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

For us it was really hard to find some information about Vila Velha and how to get there from Curitiba. That's why we write this, to hopefully help you and make it easier to find your way to get there.
To get to parque estadual Vila Velha you can take 2 buses (as you can see on the picture). We couldn't find any information about these buses, and that's why we rent a car. It was just 120R for one day. The way to get there is really easy.

Parque estadual Vila Velha is a really big park but you can't just go around. It has 2 places where you can get (by bus) and go around. So when you arrive you have to buy 1 or 2 ( depends if you want to see both places) bustickets. One costs 15R and the other one 10R.
You go buy bus to the places where you'll be guided around. You have to go with a guide, so it's not a park where you can go around by yourself.
I made some pictures from the map. The left side is one busride, the right side is the other one.
At the top of the map, in between the two bus destinations you see a 16km path throught the forrest. We wanted to do that trail but you have to book it and they only do that trail in weekends.

At the end we enjoyed being there and saw some beautiful nature, but we wanted to hike a little more and rather go without a guide cause they don't speak any English, only Portugues, so we walked with the but didn't understand anything.

Date of experience: March 2016
3  Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Please Take the time to visit the state park. It is pretty hard to go on your own, by bus, but you can book an affordable half-day tour with Serra Verde Express.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank LuzMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

We came whole the way from Curítibas to Vila Velha to discover that they turned this place into some disney-land for laze people that think they are nature-lovers... You can visit the stone formations that aren't too bad, but what really amazingly stupid is, are the buses that run every half hour from the tourist center to the rocks... it's like 1 km and everyone goes by BUS!?! not a good way to preserve nature - I would think... We hiked the alternative trail to the stones and were almost the only ones who did this. Incredible... They've build a ' hike trail' around the stones, so it really feels like an attraction. We couldn't they just leave the nature as it was?!

Then you go with another bus to the holes and the lake. Here they even mowed the grass... so it felt like walking in a park.

We thought we would really have the possibility to hike, but you can only hike around the stones (less than 3 km) and that's it...

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Nel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews