We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
547
137
35
21
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
137
35
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursethe ritz carltonbeautiful hotelheat experiencebottled wateritalian restaurantindoor poolking bedthe hotel offersbreakfast was excellentprofessional staffservice was impeccablejapan triplobby loungehotel staffthe check in processvalet service
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 758 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

The RC Okinawa is probably the best hotel in Okinawa for a couple.

Hotel grounds
Peaceful and superbly designed with a very airy feel and stunning views to the bay, county club and mountains.

In the evening you can hear the natural wildlife and see the odd gecko.

Staff
This aspect was particularly notable. From check in to check out everyone we met showed genuine hospitality and was superbly pleasant.

A special mention must go to Motoi -san who showed us our room and explained the room functions. He happened to drive us to the beach and offer to drive us to the local restaurants too. A truly helpful gentleman who made our stay very memorable. Also to Chiaki-san who efficiently managed the front of desk and was always there to welcome us back and to ensure that everything was in order.

One morning we mistakenly went to the spa for morning yoga and when we discovered it was shut (7am) we called the reception who informed us it was in the lobby lounge and offered to send a buggy to pick us up - great initiative.

Valet parking and car was retrieved very fast each time.

Restaurants
Breakfast was excellent with a great selection of Okinawa and western choices. There was a split catering for those who were couples and those with families. Quality of food excellent. Coffe a little weak but easily resolved with an extra shot.

We tried the local tuna special on the first night and that was excellent.

Room
We had 623 which had sweeping views to Kise country club and the bay in the distance. Great beds. Plenty of fluffy robes, towels and anything else you may need including his and hers RC beach flip flops and a beach bag. Also some RC cardboard boxes in case you needed some additional luggage capacity for your souvenirs!

Facilities
The RC has nice grounds to wonder around. The spa club was serene. Morning yoga (complimentary) is offered with stunning views of water and fairway greens in the distance. The yoga teacher was lovely and spoke mostly in Japanese which was a great experience.

The upkeep of the hotel is well maintained.

Beach
As others have commented the beach is off site and the shuttle (on demand) takes you there in 5 Min.

There are some loungers and towels and water are provided by the hotel. The area is private for RC guests but as it’s not marked out it was also used by members of the public looking for shade and rest.

Not a problem for us as it was not busy but if it was then perhaps clearer signage is preferable.

Summary
Great stay and left rejuvenated. Hope to have the opportunity to return in the future!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tamago_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koji S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Tamago_Dubai,

Thank you for selecting The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa for your recent stay in Okinawa and taking your time to sharer your warm feedback and pictures on TripAdvisor.
From the staff, restaurants, room to facilities, I am very pleased to read that you had a pleasant and memorable time with us. Especially, Motoi and Chiaki will definitely be motivated by your warm comments.
Once again, thank you very much for your patronage and review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Koji Sasaki
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

From the moment you step in to every interaction with the hotel staffs, this place exudes quality, tranquility, friendliness and attentive care. Mr. Motoi Otsuka made sure that everything was in place according to our needs and a real friendly person to interact with. The bar staff at the outdoor pool provided proactive, attentive and friendly service that made another memorable and joyful moment. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Ritz. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank travelgenesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koji S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Dear Travelgenesis

Thank you for selecting The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa for your recent visit to Okinawa and taking your time to share your feedback.
I am pleased to read that you had memorable and joyful moment in different areas of the hotel. Also, your warm comment about Motoi will definitely be a motivation for him and the rest of the ladies and gentlemen in the hotel.
Once again, thank you very much for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back when your travels bring you to Okinawa.

Koji Sasaki
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

This is a nice hotel and we have three nights stay. Room is spacious, breakfast is fine (offered Japanese style and western style), overall service is friendly, location is far away from Naha airport (no airport shuttle bus). Checking in experience was disappointed. We checked in at 5:00 pm and took 35 to 40 minutes for processing. They gave us a room at a lowest floor and we did not get a room what we paid for - a bay view room. We cannot change our room due to the fully occupancy. They only can change it till next day so the total time I spent for the check in issue is two hours. It is quite disappointed at the first beginning. Besides of that, we were happy for our stay.

Room Tip: get a better view at higher floor (fourth above)
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Venus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koji S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Venus L

Thank you for your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa and taking your time for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to read that the service was friendly and you were happy with your stay. At the same time, I greatly appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the check in process.
It is our mission to provide genuine care and comfort to our guests and your remark would certainly help us improve our services.
Once again, thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Okinawa.

Koji Sasaki
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

My boyfriend and I just went for a two day get away and we chose the Ritz Carlton. As soon as we got there, we were so warmly welcomed. Our room was absolutely amazing. We stayed in the Ritz Carlton suit on the 7th floor. The views were amazing, and entire suit was extremely clean. We spent the entire three days that we were there, exploring and relaxing in this beautiful hotel. After dinner, we came back upstairs to a romantic setup. There were beautiful candles and champagne set up for the two of us, with music in the background. The second night we went out for dinner, we came back and again had another beautiful setup with a few treats awaiting us that said "Thank you for staying with us." They also prepared the jacuzzi and bathtub for us every time we left, this way when we returned, it would be all ready for us. I even came home to a beautiful assortment of flowers in the tub, I felt like a princess! I also loved how everywhere you went, the spa, restaurants, breakfast or even picking up the phone to call guest services because you have a question, everyone knows who you are and addresses you by your name. It made us feel very special and definitely well taken care of. This was by far the best hotel that I've ever stayed in. The amazing hospitality, extremely kind people, and beautiful grounds, this mini vacation couldn't have been more perfect. Thank you everyone at the Ritz Carlton for making this better than we could've ever imagined!

Room Tip: Any room you choose is going to be beautiful! They are all beautiful, intimate and share amazing views.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank taylorrr8226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koji S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Taylorrr8226,

Thank you for selecting The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa as your recent vacation destination and taking your time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in our suite. It is the feedback from guests like you that helps us motivate to deliver exceptional services. We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future.
Once again, thank you very much for your patronage.

Koji Sasaki
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Probably is the worst Ritz we have stayed for family trip. We booked place because thought they have the Ritz kids club as everywhere else, but they don’t have it and the hotel are not kids friendly at all! Indoor pool kids not allow to join after 530, one dining place kids not allow to join after 7:30.We tried to book the pizza class for one of our daughter during the stay, it was told fully booked already. When we pass by the class saw only two kids there. Food are defiantly over priced. Marriott next door only half price and kids under 6 years old are free. Staff at Ritz are nice and polite, this is probably the only good thing about this hotel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank 531jingjingm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koji S, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear 531jingjingm,

Thank you for selecting The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa for your visit to Okinawa and also taking your time to share your feedback.

Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you had at the swimming pool and restaurant regarding the operational hours for children.
This should have been communicated in advance in order to avoid inconvenience for your stay.
I am also very sorry that the pizza class was full. We have this activity before the actual operation of the restaurant, and this could have been communicated to you in better way so that you could plan your stay well.

Despite the disappointment, I highly appreciate your comment about our ladies and gentlemen being nice and polite. It is truly an encouragement to receive positive feedback for us.

Once again, thank you very much for your patronage and comments.
We sincerely hope you would give us another opportunity to welcome you back as our guest when your travels bring you back to Okinawa to regain your trust in our hotel.

Kindest regards,

Koji Sasaki
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews