We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/30
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$235
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/28
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$154
View deal
eDreamsUS$235
TravelocityUS$160
CheapTicketsUS$160
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
403
27
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
403
27
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool chef pablo costa rica private island general manager boutique hotel view of the ocean the entire staff worth the trip local restaurants rooms are beautiful amazing views star service delicious food every meal tropical paradise the managers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2021 via mobile

I had a few days that needed a relaxing place . El Castillo was better than perfect. From the start with Rebeca managing my arrival . To the staff with the right amount of attention. The food was absolutely a diners delight . I actually didn’t leave the premises. I can not wait to get back there . Thank you to all of the staff .

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank eswain50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2021

Friends and I went for lunch this past weekend and we all were impressed with literally everything! The grounds and hotel were beautiful, Rebeca and the support staff went out of their way to create a memorable experience, the food was insane and the view was out of this world! Top notch!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Service
Thank junglejourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2021

El Castillo Hotel in Ojochal, is located off the main road (route 34) up on hill with a breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean and the Terreba River Basin. Rooms are incredible, with ample windows that allow the guests to admire the view and the more-common than expected, flight of scarlet macaws.

The wonderful view is only surpassed by the amazing staff, which is helpful in every possible way. Rebecca, the manager, went out of her way to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. The staff recommended nearby restaurants, arranged boat tours and at every opportunity, asked how they could improve our stay.

My only suggestion would be to have two sets of drapes, light and thick. The ones in our room allowed the sun to seep into our bedroom very early in the morning. However, this allowed us to start the day early and enjoy the wonderful breakfast.

I wish I were in that pool, watching the ocean, only to be interrupted by the call of scarlet macaws far off in the distance.

Room tip: Corner suites are incredible and have the best view.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebeca Villalobos , Director General at El Castillo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2021

Dear Eric , Thank you very much for your comment, for us in El Castillo really was a pleasure to host you and we wish you can come back. We will take a note of your comments because this is how we improve every time.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2021 via mobile

What’s not to love. The staff was attentive and kind. The view was unbeatable. Food was great. Pool and surrounding deck are tranquil. Great place to stay!
Not much that was negative. It’s slightly close to the main road but it not a noise you notice much. I’m picky about that and it didn’t bother me.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BryanInAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2021 via mobile

We had a wonderful relaxing stay at el castillo. the hotel is furnished with great attention to detail and has a very nice atmosphere. especially the view from the well-maintained pool is fantastic. the food in the restaurant is delicious and the team looks after you with great attention.
we extended our stay by 2 days and can highly recommend the hotel and the restaurant. we would visit el castillo again at any time!

Special wishes to José and Vanessa. You make a very good job
Simone + Christian

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kenai86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews