We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing time at Casa toucan”
Your outdoor space awaits!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your outdoor space awaits!
Master bedroom Bathroom #1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Your outdoor space awaits!
Master bedroom
Bathroom #1
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Bathroom #2
Kitchen
Living Room
Outdoor terrace
Outdoor terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jfdupras
Canmore, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing time at Casa toucan”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa toucan , a great place for a family or two couples. We couldn't believe how beautiful the house, the site and the pool were . The host was really friendly and helpful. The view from the house and the patio are stunning, jungle, mountains and ocean view . What more could you ask for ? The house is situated high up in the mountains, so you get best of both world , tranquility , wildlife and easy access to town in 20 Minutes. There is many great restaurants right in Ojochal. You also get access to different beaches and sites close by. Make sure you visit Nauyaca waterfalls , the highlight of our trip so far. I would definitely recommend Casa Toucan to anyone looking for peace, scenery and wildlife viewing . Thanks for beeing a part of our Costa Rica trip !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank You.James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tereniaco...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Staying in the garden of Eden”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

If you want to experience real Costa Rica stay in casa Toucan . Wake up to the sounds of the jungle, watch the abundant wildlife , pick fresh bananas and mangoes for breakfast. Enjoy the views , the sunsets and float in the pool in the evenings looking up at the stars. Property is spacious, comfortable and well equipped . It is uniquely situated at the end of a mountain track in unspoilt Ojochal. The nearby beaches are all beautiful as is the surrounding countryside and we made many trips to the national parks which are within easy access. There is a supermarket and a good selection of restaurants within 10 minutes drive of the property, plus a tourist information office which has a small library. Local restaurants called Sodas are a cheaper alternative and can be found all along the main highway. We regretted not hiring a 4by4 as roads are steep and tend to be dirt tracks .
An integral part of the properties charm is James Mcgeough who is a superb host with a wealth of local knowledge. Unobtrusive, but there when you need him . We enjoyed every moment of our Costa Rican adventure, it surpassed our expectations in every way. Thank you, James.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H
Chase, Canada
2 reviews
“Great pool, great views, and a great get-away!”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This two bedroom, two bath bungalow is nestled at the foot of the mountains in Ojochal. Easy access to the property, and the house was spacious and clean. The kitchen had all the necessary appliances and small kitchenware to make cooking-in a breeze, yet the location was only minutes from a roadside pizza joint and high-end restaurants. The ocean view is expansive, and the sun sets at the right side of the viewscape, allowing for that perfect sunset photo every night. The pool was private, clean, and the perfect temp for evening swims or before sunrise. Toucans, parakeets and a hawk were regulars in the trees around the property, and Scooby, the owner's dog, often came to hang out (sleep) on the shaded patio. He is partial to the real salmon treats available at the pet supply store in Uvita, so be sure to pick some up when you get groceries.

The owner and caretaker, James, is the most friendly host there is. He has lived in the area for several years and knows almost everyone in Ojochal. James will provide directions, advice and any assistance you may need. He lives in a casita above the rental property, so you can just call out and he'll be right there.

I really enjoyed my three weeks at Casa Toucan and can recommend it wholeheartedly!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvcrtrav...
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ocean Views with beautiful sunsets, wildlife and all the comforts of home!”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This was truly a home away from home rental. The beds were comfortable and the linens were fresh. There was plenty of closet space and storage. The bathrooms were spacious. The kitchen supplies were more than ample for cooking or baking anything. The home is surrounded with fruit bearing trees, such as lime, star fruit, bananas, mangos, coconuts and water apple. All of which you are invited to pick and enjoy. The pool was a refreshing alternative to the beaches. Another great feature is that the road ends at this property so it is very private and quiet. If you are into photography, there are countless species of birds such as Flycatchers, Toucans, Trogans, Tanagers, hawks, seed eaters, woodpeckers, parrots, chachalacas and so many more. There were also a variety of mammals like the howler monkey and the capuchin monkey and the coati. Ojochal has several restaurants and a small grocery that are just a 5 minute drive from the house. Uvita is just a 15 minute drive with options of Grocery, banks, bakery, pharmacy, and car rentals. Also a farmers market every Saturday morning.

I have to credit James the home owner for being so prompt in email replies and offering his assistance whenever we needed anything. He was so much fun to talk to and always had a funny story to tell. Actually he was at times hillarious! We were always laughing. We had a medical emergency towards the end of our stay and James came to the rescue to not only drive us to the hospital but stayed to interpret with the hospital staff and the doctor and returned the next morning to help with the checkout. He even had my wife laughing as a diversion from the medical emerency. We felt like we were all family when we left. He even has a Great dog named Scooby that helps look out for the property. We highly recommend renting this property as you will leave with more than memories - you will have made a great friend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
Thank You so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ali864
spartanburg,south carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“we will definitely be back to casa toucan!”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

the views of the sun setting into the pacific ocean from casa toucan are incredible!!

it is very peaceful on the hill, you will only hear the sounds of nature. a very wide variety of birds (falcons, hummingbirds, toucans & more!).

the house & pool are lovely. everything you need to be comfortable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing