We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility at its best”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Cottage

Swallow Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swallow Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Swallow Cottage
Living area with woodburner
Open plan kitchen/dining area
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Court Yard of Swallow Cottage
Courtyard with a mediterranean touch
View from master bedroom
View from master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Huntly, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sthomas70
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquility at its best”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I booked 5 out of the 6 available cottages for a family get together. Swallow Cottage was a beautiful place to spend a week. With so many tourist places to go it was a perfect base. Being dog friendly also helped especially being so close the river Deveron, which could be accessed with ease. If you are after peace and tranquillity, this is the place for you.

Koos & Caroly were very accommodating with our requests to rent the cottages for certain days and would recommend coming here to any of my friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review. We think it is very important that our guests have a good time and are comfortable in the accommodation we provide. Hopefully you will return and stay with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell2118
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal accomodation in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have stated here twice now and are very likely to stay again. It sleeps four easily and has plenty of space indoors and outdoors. We particularly like the veranda; its perfect for wildlife spotting in the early morning and late evening. The cottage in a quiet location in the "forgotten" part of Scotland but is within 30 minutes or so of the coast and 45 minutes of Aberdeen . It is well equipped, centrally heated and has an efficient log burner. The owners live on site and are very helpful and considerate.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferelith...
1 review
“Very comfortable property with beautiful views”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely property, lots of room, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, including very comfortable beds. Beautiful views. Warm welcome from Koos and Carolyn on our arrival. We were very happy during our stay there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are both very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Swallow Cottage and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria P
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful, fully equipped, very peaceful!”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here for a few days while we were travelling for work. The location is stunning and the cottage is very well appointed, well equipped and spacious. It is very large for the number of bedrooms so there is plenty of space for everyone to store their things, cook together and relax on the comfy sofas in front of the fire. We were amazed at the excellent array of cooking utensils and the good quality pots and pans! Very nice touch. It felt almost like being at home.

We especially loved the the walk to the river which is very well maintained while still giving you a sense of being alone in the beautiful countryside. The chickens were a fun addition, we're just sorry there weren't any eggs going spare. There's plenty of parking space and the location is quiet and safe.

The only thing that was a little inconvenient is that the Wifi was not very reliable and has to be paid as an extra cost. Our data went very quickly so we had to keep topping it up. But that is understandable given the rural location. There were several TV channels and a wood burning stove to keep everyone entertained in the evenings so the lack of internet was barely felt. The weather was even good enough to make the most of the barbecue on the lovely patio outside.

Lovely cottage, would definitely recommend it for a relaxing break.

.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us last year. I am sorry you were a bit disappointed with the wifi but I am pleased to say that we can offer our guests more data and reliability now. As you said yourself, rural Scotland is still behind when it comes to fast broadband. We are waiting for the new fibre optic cable to be connected. Hopefully when you are working in the area or just fancy a break you will come back nd stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dez S
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“You definitely require a car and read the small print for added extra costs!”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cottage was home from home,had everything you would need.the hosts were lovely and the countryside was beautiful.lt was a very tranquil environment but as I mentioned above the cottage was very isolated and you would be lost without transport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home comforts.
Liked least: The isolation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2015
We are pleased you thought the cottage was lovely and the surroundings beautiful. With regards to our location, there is a link which gives you a location map. This also tells guests that use of a car is advised. This guest did have a car but his wife did not drive. Luckily whilst also working some night shifts in a local supermarket the gentleman was able to take his wife out during the day. We do however sometimes have guests staying without transport and we are more then willing to give them the occasional lift into the village or pick up some shopping for them. Asda and Tesco both deliver to our properties as well. Regrettably our landline broadband is very poor and the only way to offer our guests wifi is with a mobile wifi device. These work on a pay as you go basis and we put data on ourselves and ask for a small charge of £10,./week. Because this guest stayed with us for several weeks we asked for just £5,./week. It is also quite normal for there to be an extra charge if extra people are staying in a holiday cottage in addition to the guests entered on the booking form. This is mentioned in the terms and conditions. We offered this guest quite a substantial discount towards the 2 extra weeks they asked to stay and we did not charge in the end for some additional guests as we felt they had overlooked this and not read it in the "terms & conditions ". Carolyn and myself want all our guests to have a great time when they stay in our properties and we hope this guest and his wife come and stay with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing