We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Friendly Cafe in Formby”
Review of Cathy's Tea Room

Cathy's Tea Room
Ranked #24 of 60 Restaurants in Formby
Description: All of our dishes are homemade from scratch. Scouse is our most popular dish, served with red cabbage and a Bap. Homemade soup and roll only £3, add a sandwich for our deal £4.95 for both. Lemons cakes are very popular and are all made fresh each day, choose from lemon drizzle, chocolate, coffee or Victoria, to name just a few.
Restaurant details
Description: All of our dishes are homemade from scratch. Scouse is our most popular dish, served with red cabbage and a Bap. Homemade soup and roll only £3, add a sandwich for our deal £4.95 for both. Lemons cakes are very popular and are all made fresh each day, choose from lemon drizzle, chocolate, coffee or Victoria, to name just a few.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Have visited here from very beginning and always friendly welcoming and tasty food & desserts . It’s like a little community everyone says hello and although you see lots of locals everyone is warmly greeted. Whether in a group or solo I always feel at home here Cath & the girls are always up for a chat and a laugh. Don’t change a thing !

Thank HenzandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathhow, Owner at Cathy's Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you so much xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Reasonable prices, good food, freshly made, we had the scouse, which my husband enjoyed and i had the bacon and cheese on toast. staff friendly and accommodating.

Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathhow, Owner at Cathy's Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Saturday lunch on a day wandering around, it’s a few years since we were in Formby and found Cathy’s quite by chance. We are glad we did. The tea rooms is at the back of a marvellous gift shop, we were greeted by smiling staff and customers. Our order was taken and the drinks arrived quite quickly. Our food took a few minutes and was just as we ordered, it was hot and portion size was really good. The staff and customers chatted which provided a smashing atmosphere. There seemed to be many regular customers who were addressed by first names by the staff, always a good sign for me. The coffee is fresh not instant, each tea is made in a pot not in a mug. The choice of home made sweets and cakes looked really good, the specials board is big and prominent which helps if you need spectacles. The tables are clean and tidy and the decor is pleasant and interesting. Prices are very reasonable for a tea room in this area.

Thank Stevearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathhow, Owner at Cathy's Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Cathy’s is a nice friendly place for a variety of snacks and cakes. Staff are very helpful and friendly and can prepare dishes off menu. The only downside is that toilet facilities are on the first floor so Cathy’s may be classed as unsuitable for wheelchair users. It is though recommended by us.

Thank AnthonywNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathhow, Owner at Cathy's Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments.

Cathy Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Oh WOW what an amazing time my 7 friends and I have just had,we had been let down by someone else and I must say I’m glad we were,Jill did an amazing job at such short notice plenty of sandwiches Ham,Cheese and Egg Mayonnaise lots of tea and coffee then beautiful homemade scones with jam and clotted cream and if that wasn’t enough lots of gorgeous homemade cakes Lemon drizzle,Bakewell tart,Coffee and finally Chocolate cake,all in lovely setting table looked lovely when we arrived can’t recommend it highly enough can’t wait to go back maybe next time won’t have breakfast and we were asked if we wanted to bring what was left home the answer from us all was a resounding yes.
Thank you again girls you were fantastic and Jill hope your a very proud lady we’ve had a brilliant time xx

2  Thank Issimo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathhow, Owner at Cathy's Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you so much ladies for your kind comments.
My girls thoroughly enjoyed serving you all.
Thank you for being such a lovely group of ladies.

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathy's Tea Room also viewed

Formby, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Formby, Merseyside
 

Been to Cathy's Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing