We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great”

Ristorante La Francese
Ranked #4 of 71 Restaurants in Policoro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$57
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in the ancient baronial mansion Policoro and the property is located in the castle courtyard, offers a cuisine based on ground / meat products with 100% double Lucan during the winter period, while for the whole summer period the cuisine is based of fish products with a wide selection of wines. if you love good food and good wine you will surely be in the right place at the right time.
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I have brought many of my clients and friends to this Restaurant and it never fails to surprise. The menu is inventive and fresh that changes often. There wine list and menu is a great taste of Basilicata. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank mickp875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2016

The location is fabulous and very romantic, elegant setting and ambiance that create a very lovely atmosphere. However, that's the only thing the restaurant can boast as all the other aspects are below standards. Bad slow service, waiters are not knowledgeable on the menu and misinform the clients.
Wine was served after the appetizer, none of the items we ordered in the menu were available, the waiter suggested 3 appetizers that took a total of 45 minutes to arrive and were not even what we ordered. The main appetizer we ordered was missing a portion of Tuna which he didn't mention in the beginning (but we paid for), then they brought a tiny seafood salad (which we didnt ordered and then had to pay for) and then when i politely asked for the appetizer they forgot to bring, the waiter impolitely responded in front of many other clients " Madam, we cant please everyone,its not available"! That is not acceptable because if you dont have any of the dishes asked for, you need to inform the customer before and specially not blame them for asking for something they are waiting for because you forgot once again to mention it is not available. Food was OK for Italian standards but potions were tiny and prices very high. After this, we waited 40 minutes for the main course, we had ordered 2, but only one of them arrived,at that point we get up and ask for the check as we were not hungry anymore and were disappointed for the bad service. In the end, we ended up paying for things we didn't order, full portions that we never served, and our evening was ruined due to the waiters incompetent attitude, slow service and rudeness we didn't expect from a restaurant that tries to be a classy, elegant gourmet restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joy0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We ate outside in the courtyard of this impressive Baronial Palace, Faultless, in every way, Fabbo waiter with very enthusiastic and informed service, we ended up with home made pasta with a speciality flour from an antique milling process, attention to details, a local Anglianico, cost as it did, memorable, if only we could eat such quality without taking out a mortgage, Congratulations to all involved

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CarolineC216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

I've been coming here for several years and I wouldn't miss a opportunity to dine here. A glorious gastronomical experience within a unique setting. Chef Angela prides herself in preparing the best tasting, food around. Ask Giovani for a few meal suggestions, and it's a Michelin food experience. Don't miss the opportunity, you will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Deeman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

If ever you pass in the area, you must stop over and try the "anti pasto" of the chef, Angela. Or the sea bass in the salt crust! Pure magic and explosion of tastes! I have travelled a lot but I will put this restaurant on the top 10 of these I have ever made!
Go there blinded eye!

Date of visit: April 2015
2  Thank Sallam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Francese also viewed

Policoro, Province of Matera
 
Policoro, Province of Matera
Policoro, Province of Matera
 
Policoro, Province of Matera
Policoro, Province of Matera
 

Been to Ristorante La Francese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing