We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family accommodation at On The Bay Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The master bedroom and second bedroom occupy the top floor.The seaside flat occupies the lower floor Scullery
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
The master bedroom and second bedroom occupy the top floor.The seaside flat occupies the lower floor
Scullery
View from the whale walk 1 km from the property
Open plan living
Bedroom 2
Kitesurfing nearby at the Strand beach
Master bedroom's bathroom
Bedroom 2 and 3 bathroom with shower and bath tub
Built in BBQ on the front patio
Open plan living room and dining room with front loft at the top
Master bedroom bathroom with double vanity and extra roomy shower
Gordon's Bay beach just 70 metres from the property looking over the back of Table Mountain
The whole property.  The seaside flat occupies the lower floor to the right hand side.
Gordon's Bay beach just 70 metres from the property looking over the back of Table Mountain
View of living room from the front loft
Sunset looking over False Bay to Table Mountain from the patio BBQ
Modern kitchen, granite worktop and complete with LG coffee machine and Smeg oven
Bathroom 2
Bedroom 2
Master bedroom
Bedroom 3
Open plan living space
View of False Bay over looking Table Mountain
Master bedroom's walk in robe and dressing room
Bathroom 2 vanity
Front loft view
Bathroom 2
Scullery complete with washing machine, dryer and dishwasher
Master bedroom
Scullery
View from BBQ patio
LG coffee machine
Bedroom 3 small desk and chair
View looking at Gordon's Bay yacht club.  Within 1 km from the property
Back loft with study desk and fold out couch.
Back loft
Bedroom 3
View over looking to Strand
Open plan living
Master bedroom
Entrance
BBQ patio area and front loft up the top of house
Enjoy whale watching at Hermanus seeing the Southern Right Whale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gordon's Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Fiona R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect family accommodation at On The Bay Retreat”
Reviewed 10 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We recently escaped the city for a family getaway to the quaint seaside village of Gordon’s Bay. We stayed at On The Bay Retreat a beautifully decorated self-catering property, consisting of two residences, overlooking False Bay. We stayed in the 3 bedroom house, which is perfect for a family or couples travelling together. It is extremely well appointed and I loved the large kitchen and separate laundry area. Each bedroom has a flatscreen TV and there is also free WIFi. The beach is a mere 70-meter walk from the house, ideal for hot summer days. We loved staying at On The Bay Retreat and can’t wait to head back again in Summer!

Date of stay: September 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Sep 2018
Thank you Fiona for your wonderful review! You are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadz5150
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beach house bliss at On The Bay in gorgeous Gordon's Bay!”
Reviewed 16 August 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We absolutely LOVED our weekend stay at On The Bay! If you're looking for a beach holiday in a stunning location with breathtaking ocean and mountain views, then look no further then On The Bay! I have been fortunate to stay in many beautiful locations around the world, but On The Bay has captured my heart like no other. My family and I felt right at home - in fact, we could've easily moved in forever! A peaceful retreat with every mod con you can think of, this stunning house is within walking distance to the beach, yet far enough away for you to enjoy the tranquility of your surroundings. Loved the chic beach house decor with African touches. Amazing views from all the rooms, the state-of-the-art kitchen and your very own private patio with barbeque. The perfect spot to enjoy sundowners. My personal favourite was the upstairs loft with comfy Lazy-Boys and a large window. The views that will literally take your breath away. And the beds are so incredibly comfortable - you almost don't want to get out of bed to go sightseeing! The retreat's location is perfect for exploring the surrounding area with loads of nature reserves, hikes, wine estates, beaches, restaurants and bars. I cannot wait to return to On The Bay to relax, recharge and enjoy the natural beauty. This special and unique place gets 10 out of 10 for everything!

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Aug 2018
Thank you Nadine for your wonderful review! It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family stay. You are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cauley C
1 review
“Amazing view and a stunning home”
Reviewed 15 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had the pleasure of staying for a week at the beautiful On The Bay Retreat. The house was immaculate, the view stunning and our host was very welcoming and helpful.
We would highly recommend a stay, loved it so much we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Aug 2018
Thank you for your review. It was great to have you stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsbarnes5
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 20 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This house was absolutely perfect! It is spacious, comfortable, with beautiful views of the bay! Comfortable beds, beautiful bathrooms, kitchen had everything we needed. The garage was a big plus for us as we had a rental car and 2 Harley-Davidson motorcycles. Lots of great restaurants nearby as well as grocery stores, liquor store and pharmacy. Mackenzie is a wonderful host, respects your privacy but is there if you need help. The house was even better than we expected and highly recommend it!

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
Thank you! It was lovely to have you stay and of course you are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisaL31...
2 reviews
“On the Bay Retreat”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Fantastic stay, excellent location with stunning views. Very well appointed and good value for money. I will certainly go back!

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 Dec 2017
Thank you! You are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.