We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect cottage break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Garden Cottage

Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper
The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
The open plan kitchen is well equipped
The main double bedroom overlooks the courtyard
The twin bedroom overlooks a quiet country lane
The wetroom has a WC, hand-basin and shower
The private garden patio and picnic table - accessed through French doors from the sitting room
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of daffodil in our gardens.
The wildlife pond has frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in the late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildlife meadow at the top of Humphrey's hill
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of stunning coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including ponies, deer, goats and birds of prey
Play area with two towers, bridge, slide, swing, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect cottage break”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in March 2016

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Garden Cottage.Lovely log fire made the cottage warm and cosy.Very comfy bed.Lovely garden.The grounds were especially beautiful and the views outstanding.John and Melanie are warm and friendly hosts.The cottage was spotlessly clean,there was even a pint of milk in the fridge when we arrived.We'll be back!!! Andy and Sue

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you liked the log fire and found the bed comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and one of the reasons we bought the cottages! We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect cottage break”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Garden Cottage.Lovely log fire made the cottage warm and cosy.Very comfy bed.Lovely garden.The grounds were especially beautiful and the views outstanding.John and Melanie are warm and friendly hosts.The cottage was spotlessly clean,there was even a pint of milk in the fridge when we arrived.We'll be back!!!

Andy and Sue

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you for a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the cottage and grounds and the pint of milk! We look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampshire...
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage, lovely hosts, home from home.”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed from 23rd to 25th Feb, we rented Garden cottage and our friends rented Wisteria cottage. Lovely few days away in great location, staggering distance to great pub, very homely and cosy cottage with log burner. Short drive to Heddon valley and Ilfracombe and Combe Martin. Loved the cottages , very nice hosts , great location, fantastic food and beer in the pub. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Really glad you liked Garden & Wisteria Cottages - we are indeed fortunate to be within staggering distance of the pub! (and shop). Heddon's Mouth is amazing, as is the Valley of Rocks near Lynton. We look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn R
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great walks and very cosy cottage. Very welcoming”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Lovely location close to village pub with excellent food. Excellent walks from the cottage
Very cosy, pet friendly and welcoming

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and local pub very near with excellent food
Liked least: Could do with a bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed the local walks, village and pub.
Garden Cottage is cosy and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob A
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We love Garden Cottage, it's very cosy and quiet. It is a lovely area with an excellent pub, The Black Venus just a short walk away and take away from the post office are a must. John and Mel make you very welcome and can provide lots of information on where to go and what to see. This is our 2nd year at the cottage and we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful but with all amenities we required
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Garden Cottage, The Black Venus and the take away food from the local shop!
We look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing