We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Garden Cottage

Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper
The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
The open plan kitchen is well equipped
The main double bedroom overlooks the courtyard
The twin bedroom overlooks a quiet country lane
The wetroom has a WC, hand-basin and shower
The private garden patio and picnic table - accessed through French doors from the sitting room
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of daffodil in our gardens.
The wildlife pond has frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in the late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildlife meadow at the top of Humphrey's hill
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of stunning coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including ponies, deer, goats and birds of prey
Play area with two towers, bridge, slide, swing, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob A
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We love Garden Cottage, it's very cosy and quiet. It is a lovely area with an excellent pub, The Black Venus just a short walk away and take away from the post office are a must. John and Mel make you very welcome and can provide lots of information on where to go and what to see. This is our 2nd year at the cottage and we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful but with all amenities we required
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Garden Cottage, The Black Venus and the take away food from the local shop!
We look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue A
1 review
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We love garden cottage it's very cosy and quiet we love the area The Black Venus pub just a walk away and the take a way from the post office is a must,John and Mel make you very welcome and can give you loads of information about the area.This is our 2nd year at the cottage and will be returning .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you (and your dog) enjoyed your stay in Garden Cottage. We are lucky to have The Black Venus (excellent/award winning food and great local ales) the local shop(everyday provisions, cakes and take away food)so close. And so many lovely walks too!
We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
“A cosy cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely week at Garden Cottage. The cottage is cosy and well equipped, and we appreciated having a safe, enclosed garden for our dog. The owners, Melanie and John, were very friendly and helpful. The location is very good, with so many beautiful places within easy reach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy living room, garden
Liked least: Small double bedroom
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
Thank you for a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the enclosed garden for your dog. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skidtrim
Salisbury
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you want to escape look no further”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Apologies for delay in writing our review been meaning to but things kept getting in the way. The wife and I travelled down with a friend and his teenage daughter to escape and recharge the batteries. In the lead up really good communication with John showed they were flexible with arrival times which was appreciated. On our arrival John was painting one of the other properties but welcomed us and gave us the benefit of his local knowledge. Property is very well maintained and equipped. It was so quiet with lovely gardens and there was no phone reception which is exactly what we wanted! Wi-Fi was working in the house so you could contact people if you chose to. Would definitely use again when down that part of the world would thoroughly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you found the peace and quiet that you were looking for in our Cottage.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
default85...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely peaceful holiday in rural surroundings.”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Garden Cottage is a cosy homely place in lovely rural surroundings. Big enough for the four of us and our golden retriever. A smallish garden which could be made larger when the bush by the patio door is cut back. Also the patio door when put on hook managed to unhook and close itself. Think the hook is in wrong place. Minor moans. On the whole we loved the cottage and would definitely book again. The owners, Melanie and John, made us very welcome and were very informative on the area giving us tips on walks etc.

The Black Venus pub a short walk away was a bonus. Good food and very friendly. Also the local store was handy for supplies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: We liked the peaceful location and the pub in walking distance.
Liked least: The weather, but you cant book that unfortunately.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you were comfortable in our Garden Cottage.
The Black Venus and Challacombe Stores are great - just a short walk to both.
We are sorry that you had problems with the door hook, we will fix it ASAP.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$83
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing