We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best self catering I've stopped in”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Garden Cottage

Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper
The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
The open plan kitchen is well equipped
The main double bedroom overlooks the courtyard
The twin bedroom overlooks a quiet country lane
The wetroom has a WC, hand-basin and shower
The private garden patio and picnic table - accessed through French doors from the sitting room
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of daffodil in our gardens.
The wildlife pond has frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in the late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildlife meadow at the top of Humphrey's hill
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of stunning coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including ponies, deer, goats and birds of prey
Play area with two towers, bridge, slide, swing, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TimS8718
Northampton
1 review
“Best self catering I've stopped in”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed here at the start of June with my girlfriend and our dog.
Perfect location for sight seeing and really good walks with the dog, watersmeet and valley of rocks being the best of them.
John was very useful and very knowledgable about must see places.
The pub in the village is very nice to.
All in all a excellent place to stay and would recommend it to anybody and would go again and again myself.
Cheers.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy that enjoyed your stay and we will happily welcome you back.
We are very lucky to have so many lovely walks - watersmeet and Valley of Rocks are both stunning - and the local pub is a bonus too.

See you again - cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frostygir...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The Great Escape meets System Reboot”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Garden Cottage is just one of the lets converted from Town Tenement Farm in the peaceful village of Challacombe. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and cozy and although there is WiFi at the property you won't be bothered by texts or mobile phone calls because there is no coverage for 2 miles. BLISS!!!!! This is a birdwatchers paradise, with a wide variety of species in close proximity. Rush hour consists of a farmer on a quad bike going one way down the lane and a van going the other way. The place is so quiet you can hear people walking all the way to the pub 400mtr away.

The farm area has an active veg patch, a small woodland, a pond, a damp meadow, a high meadow (with children's play area) and two helpful daytime 'hosts'. The village shop is a 2 minute walk away and stocks almost everything (including hot food, Takeaways on Tuesdays & cream teas in the garden); The local pub, next to the shop, has an extensive menu and the food is tasty and plentiful and neither are pricing for a captive audience. Dogs are welcome across the whole area and there are countless walks and bridleways around, including some NT properties close by. If you have to find something more exciting to do, there is a Zoo and a Dinosaur park within a 15 minute drive and safe, sandy beaches within a half hours drive. Did I mention the Alpaca farm, the water-powered railway, the Pannier Markets and the surfing? But everyone is so friendly you can't help slowing down a pace.

What I liked best; practically no man-made noise, other than quiet conversation
What I liked least; not getting a reminder when the rental balance was due.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy sofas
Liked least: Would have liked a reminder to pay off the rental balance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2014
WOW - Thank you, what a great and comprehensive review!
It was lovely to catch up with you again and we are glad that you had a good stay.
Thank you for your gardening/plant advice (always welcome).

We have never sent reminders with regard to the balance payable and have not really had much problem with this - we are grateful for your observation though and will keep it in mind.

We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

On arrival, we were told Garden Cottage had an issue with the water heater, so we were upgraded to Inglenook Cottage. A lovely welcome from Melanie and John, very accommodating to us and our dog. Beautiful feature and functional fireplace, very clean and nicely decorated, everything you'd need for a short or long stay. Both owners were happy to spend time with us telling us what to see in our short visit, and a recommendation of the local pub some 70m up the lane was well worth a visit. Excellent food at the Black Venus! Lovely location, lovely accommodation, very welcoming hosts, will definitely return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Sorry about the water heater in Garden Cottage (which has now been repaired) but we are very pleased that you liked Inglenook Cottage and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave A
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing and peaceful short break”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed for a short break (2 nights), late January 2014. Garden Cottage is very well appointed and has everything you could need to see you through. From walking in the front door you know that John and Melanie have taken great care and pride in their business, all the little touches are there to make you feel at home (heating on, tea, milk etc) The location is ideal for striking out to any part of Exmoor, but also the North Devon coast; Woollacombe, Croyde etc if that's your thing. Walks from Challacombe are also available if you wish to "park the car" for a few days. Make the most of the local pub (Black Venus) while you're here - you won't be disappointed! Just remember to bring a torch for the walk to and from the pub, and mind the ford!!!
TIP: pay attention to Joh and Melanie's recommendation about NOT following your SatNav. We walked the road you might otherwise come down and it is not recommended.
All you need to do now is book in, and look forward to a relaxing time !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you liked our Garden Cottage and really pleased that you enjoyed some of the excellent walks.
We are very fortunate to have the Black Venus so near.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Town Tenement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Lovely little cottage, good access to the countryside for biking and walking, and a great pub nearby. We stayed here just before Christmas and very much enjoyed it.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay - Exmoor is great for cycling and walking, and our local pub is very popular. Thank you very much for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing