We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wisteria Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wisteria Cottage

Wisteria Cottage, folding doors to large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wisteria Cottage, folding doors to large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
The sitting room has a log-burning stove, comfortable seating, Freeview TV and reading lamp & stand The sitting room has large folding doors to a lovely decking & enclosed private garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Wisteria Cottage, folding doors to large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
The sitting room has a log-burning stove, comfortable seating, Freeview TV and reading lamp & stand
The sitting room has large folding doors to a lovely decking & enclosed private garden
The charming dining area
The well-equipped kitchen (including dishwasher & washer/dryer)
The spacious bedroom can be king-size or twin using a ziplink bed
The bathroom has a WC, hand-basin and large shower cubicle
The large garden is fully enclosed and has a private gate to the road
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of Daffodil in our gardens
The wildlife pond has frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on-site, especially in late summer
A path up Humphrey's Hill is lined with red, orange and yellow Azaleas
There is a dramatic coloured maple in the Autumn
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
Amazing views of Exmoor from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including ponies, deer, goats and birds of prey
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wayne3165
1 review
“Wisteria Cottage”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Beautiful little cottage ideally located for exploring Exmoor and the North Devon coast. Very well equipped and very clean. Lots of local walks and pub serving excellent food within a few hundred yards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we are very pleased you found the cottage clean and well-equipped, enjoyed the local walks and the food at the Black Venus. We look forward to welcoming you again, John & Melanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Wisteria Cottage - it is indeed a great place to rest and chill out.
We are very lucky with our location - easy access, near to shop and great pub....yet still quiet.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mancheste...
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A GEM”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Yes, this is our Fifth two week stay at Wisteria Cottage yet still found new places to visit without missing out on our favourites. THIS COTTAGE IS A GEM. Off the main road in a quite village with a great pub. Set in the grounds with other cottages it is spotless. You can see the owners are so proud of what they have to offer.
'In a quite village' yet so easy to motor and walk to all the beauty spots of North Devon & Exmoor.
Looking forward to our sixth visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
You are, as always, very kind. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Wisteria Cottage...we have already got ideas of more places for you to visit!
We look forward to seeing you both next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's setting so close to the village. The large lounge with big television. Privacy.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you for another great review. As always it was a pleasure to see you both. We've been here nearly 20 years and are still finding new walks and things to do! Thank you for booking your fifth holiday with us for next year (high praise indeed!) and we look forward to seeing you then.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter W
1 review
“Exmoor Excellence”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Wisteria cottage for three nights, with our dog. It was well situated in the village. We were able to walk straight onto Exmoor. The cottage was warm and comfortable and everything we needed was available. The garden was great for the dog and us, it was lovely to be able to sit outside for breakfast. The food package we ordered was delicious we loved the whorlberry jam. The pub provided great food and was dog friendly. The shop also provided a brilliant and very reasonable take away service on Tuesday nights (if we lived locally I wouldn't be cooking on Tuesdays!!)
John was extremely helpful and very knowledgable on the area, a good source of information for walks and sites to see. All in all a great place to stay and explore Exmoor we hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property.
Liked least: Low pressure shower.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast pack - the jam is a favourite of ours.
We certainly are spoiled for choice with good food in Challacombe! And as you say the walks from the door lead straight onto the moor.
We look forward to welcoming you back so that you can explore more of Exmoor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing