We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“....and now, our lovely third stay here!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Villedieu-les-Poeles, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Dave L
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“....and now, our lovely third stay here!!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This is a seriously lovely place to stay and, for that reason, Ruth and I returned again this year. Not only are the hosts, John and Paula, really welcoming and helpful in every way, but the whole experience is just so relaxing, food excellent and rooms spotless. It is well located for all the most interesting towns and coastal resorts and within easy reach of Mont St Michel. If you need to chill out, see some interesting French places and feel at home away from home, you can't go wrong here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JVL19
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a relaxing four nights in July, 2012. John and Paula were welcoming hosts. The farmhouse was beautifully renovated. The room was comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was always delicious. The location worked well for us, as we used the B&B as a base for touring the surrounding area. Paula invited us to join her and a community walking group for an early evening hike to explore the local countryside, which we really enjoyed. If you are travelling in this part of Normandy, I highly recommend this B&B.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta76...
Italian in Dublin - Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it! Love it! love it!”
Reviewed 9 December 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have been staying at this charming bed and breakfast in Normandie in different occasions mainly because the family of my partner lives in the area and when visiting them we wanted to keep some privacy for us. The surroundings are peaceful and what you would expect of the glorious norman countryside. The house itself is a beautifully restored farm, with thick stone walls and cosy interiors. The rooms are bright and comfortable and restrooms extermely clean! The breakfast is healthy and in keeping with the atmosphere.The hosts make everything to make you feel welcome without imposing on you. I definitely recommend it to anyone planning a holiday in the area!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauangell...
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You Will Not Be Disappointed”
Reviewed 13 October 2011 for a stay in November 2010

We were new B&B travelers when we stayed with John and Paula Lewis over a year ago, but since then we have traveled extensively in Europe and have stayed in numerous highly rated B&B's. La Crepelliere stands out as perhaps the purest B&B of any we have visited, not elegant, but a comfortable farm house located in a lovely rural area and painstakingly and lovingly renovated by a UK couple who will become your friends before you depart. The location was peaceful, the grounds lovely, the house atmospheric, and our room perfect. Breakfast, and a dinner we asked them to prepare for us, were excellent as were their recommendations for sightseeing. Paula even makes her own preserves which are some of the finest I have ever tasted, and she was kind enough to give us a jar upon our departure.There are some places which linger with you long after you depart, La Crepelliere was such a place as evidenced by the fact it has been over a year since our visit. Sadly, we will not be able to make a return trip but should you be in that part of Normandy it is a perfect place to relax and a very convenient location from which to tour much of the region. You will not be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranaandfa...
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 19 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We stayed at the gite of La crepelliere from 11th till the 15th of July.
I must say that I've never expected it to be that clean, that well equipped and maintained.
the mattresses and linen were so comfy, clean and fresh...
Everything was amazingly clean, the towels, the bed linen…
The gite is spacious, recently renovated, well decorated, the bathrooms are spacious and nice.
Paula and john made sure to supply us with toilet paper, sanitary bags, shampoos, soaps and a hair dryer which gave us the feel of a 5 stars hotel.
The kitchen was all equipped from wrapping cling film to bottle opener, all high quality material like you'd never expect in a rented accommodation.
Paula and John were lovely, very helpful yet discrete. They were always ready to help around, giving us tips and hints of what to do in the area. They did their best to entertain my 5 years old son. Paula used to accompany him every day to feed the hen, and check the rabbits, and my son always came back with a couple of fresh eggs from mimi the chicken.
Although the gite was self catering, Paula and John sneaked in some tea, coffee, sugar and fresh eggs in a basket as a welcome gift!
La crepelliere is very well managed and gives you the feeling that you are in a five stars accommodation, everything is nicely decorated, crisp clean and warm.
It's very accessible as well and close to charming villages and touristic location.
We've tried their breakfast once and it was fresh and delicious with warm croissant and fresh baguette.
We've also tried their table d'hote, and though not the best value for money, I must say the food was great and the atmosphere charming, Paula even offered some yogurt for our baby for no extra charge.
Their garden is lovely with plenty of space to walk around and relax, and from what I've seen around, it is highly superior to any other B&B in the area.
Paula even invited our son to a fireworks celebration in a farm nearby, and took good care of him all the time... she acted more like a friend!
The only minor pitfalls were the rather slow internet connection in the gite and the fact that they billed us 5 Euros for using their dryer on a rainy day.. (I don’t mind paying this but they could have just offered it) and oh...get ready to check out quite early, we had to clear the house at 10.30 am but they were understanding and started cleaning upper floors while allowing us to use the kitchen for another couple of hours before leaving, priceless!
Overall, it was great, we absolutely enjoyed our stay and we thank Paula so much for her lovely attitude.
I highly recommend this place to anyone who’s looking for superior quality B&B, for cleanliness, charm, comfort and luxury all combined!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing