We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa della Vista

Pool and front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and front door
Path down to the house A pool with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Pool and front door
Path down to the house
A pool with a view
Lower patio and dining area
View to Vellano at sunset
Kitchen from front door
Downstairs lounge with bed settee
Through the blind in the lounge looking at the blinding view
Upstairs lounge and fireplace
Cabin bed in upstairs lounge above sofabed
Main bedroom with wardrobe and chest of drawers
Main bedroom with window view across the valley
You can relax under the shade and enjoy the view
Cool, clear Tuscan water
Lounging outside the front door?
Al fresco dining at sunset
Piazza Mazzini in Pescia
Get a feel for the local culture in Pescia
Traditional apartments in Piazza Mazzini, Pescia
South end of Piazza Mazzini from outside Bar Pulter
Cappuccino and Vecchia Romagna at Bar Pulter in Pescia (best gelataria in town!)
Ponte Vecchio in Florence - an hour on the train
The Duomo in Florence - simply stunning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Pescia, Province of Pistoia, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Costessey...
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What can I say about this property, It has to be one of the best kept secrets of Tuscany, I just cannot understand how the price is so reasonable. this property should have a waiting list for people wanting to get to it.
At first the drive up was interesting and the mountain roads take a bit of getting use to, then you arrive in this little car park and then we were walked to the house, At first you are thinking what the hell have I let my self in for as you walk up & down this path, beware until Kevin can get permission to upgrade the path this walk is a little tricky.
Then you turn the corner and the view is stunning and then you get the property and what it is all about.
The house is small but there is everything you need, the pool is very good and it overlooks the valley, many times I spent laying on the sun bed with a beer and just took in the views, this was so so good and relaxing.The kids also loved the pool.
There is a little bar in Sorana village and it is a very pretty little village, we walked to the bar a couple of times and took in the village life, everyone was very friendly.
Also the restaurant at the bottom of the hill is very good.
Pescia is the nearest town, there are three supermarkets there, and a very good market on a Saturday morning. The restaurants are not bad and the deli about half way up the main street is excellent if not a little expensive to eat in.
The best thing about Pescia is the Ice cream stall by the river, Just unbelievable.
There is a good train service to Pisa and Florence, 30 euros to Pisa for a family of four and 40 euros to Florence.
Florence was amazing, but 72 euro to walk up the tower at Pisa was a rip off.
Also other than the tower we didn't go much on Pisa, but it was a good day out.
Locally Pistoria and the main square is wonderful, There is a good market on Wednesday, Also make the effort to go to Lucca, this is a beautiful little town.
There is only one down side to the whole holiday and that is if you don't prepare and you rely on the Italian tourists information, you can have a hard time finding about events going on around the town & region as they are crap.
If Kevin could supply a little more information in the house this would be appreciated, There is the biggest rope bridge in europe about 45 mins away. We would of gone to it and walked the bridge if we knew it existed.
There where a couple of other things as well, but until Chris (who looks after the property told us about them, without him we would not of known they where there)
We saw plenty of wildlife, including lizards and wild boars.
Also every night around 18:00 -18:30, there is a amazing show from a group of swifts which fly around the pool, Just lie quietly on the sun bed in the pool, the birds come down over the pool and it is just brilliant.
Overall a very good house in a very very good spot. WITH AN AMAZING VIEWS OF THE HILLS AND VALLEYS SURROUNDING THE HOUSE

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2013
You were our first booking for this year when you contacted us nearly a year ago, so we are very glad the wait was worth it!

Many people have said how underpriced they thought the property is but we have always felt, like you, that once word gets out about how wonderfully peaceful and tranquil it is at the house the place will sell itself. Your review can only help that process so thank you very much

I agree with you about the availability of information at the house and this is something we have provided many times but guests tend to forget, sometimes, to put the leaflets and brochures back in the ring binder in the house! At the moment, our plan is to expand the coverage of our website www.tuscanywinetours.co.uk to provide links to local attractions or activities. There is already a banner link on the site displaying information about events in and around Pistoia province. More to come later this year

Finally, we have just received word that the local authority has given us permission to improve the path so we will be installing steps down the initial part to provide easier access. It's been a struggle but we are finally nearly there!

Many thanks again for the review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View from the propoerty is amazing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Aug 2013
Steve,

I think you have missed your vocation as a poet! Your description of the view is one of the most eloquent we have received!

Thanks for taking the trouble to write to us, we really appreciate it and are happy you had such a good time

Regards

Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sunnysam2...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and idyllic Tuscan farmhouse with stunning views at an unbeatable price”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

As a group of 3 friends and 1 dog, our stay at Casa Della Vista was just perfect. The farmhouse is small but you really feel you are living an authentic slice of Tuscan life. The main thing of course is the unforgettable view and the added bonus of a plunge pool when the weather gets really hot.

Booking was really easy and the owner was very friendly and helpful and answered my many questions. The house is only accessible via an old mule track which is fairly steep in 1 or 2 places. This didn't bother us in the slightest and added to our adventure, but if you are unfit, older or have a disability, you may struggle a bit. Thankfully we were met on arrival (and departure) by Chris and a motorised wheelbarrow to carry all our bags, which we were very grateful for!

I believe we were also the first guests to bring a doggy guest with us. I have to say she absolutely loved it and her favourite spot quickly became the lone olive tree at the top of the path, where she would sit all evening and survey 'her' land.

If you are looking for luxury this probably isn't the place for you, but if you have a healthy sense of adventure, and are looking for a rustic and authentic Tuscan Farmhouse, then for the price you really can't do better. It's completely charming, and you'll wake up each day wondering if you are looking out at a painting or a real view.... It really is that spectacular. And best of all its completely private and peaceful (there are 2 other farmhouses attached but they are derelict and unused).

Thanks again to Kevin and Chris. I would have no problem in recommending to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and location
Liked least: Space (think 4 is the most that could squeeze in)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2013
Hi Sam,

We are so glad the three of you and Poppy had such a good time - you even beat some of the recent poor weather!

As you will have seen, we are in the process of installing a set of steps for the part of the path that is a bit steep - we just need to get it past the local Italian bureaucracy!

Thanks again - hopefully we will see you back!

Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatmaker
2 reviews
“A perfect Tuscan holiday”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed at Casa della Vista in July, and we'll most definitely be back. The owner had reservations originally about the size of our group, he didn't want us to be too cramped as there were four adults and three children but we are a close family and it didn't really become an issue. As you drive up the valley to Sorana you can't help but relax and start to forget about the daily grind, it really is that idyllic but it's nothing compared to the view from the villa, it's perfect. I must have spent hours just gazing out over the valley and feeling so happy to be there. The cottage is lovely, there is no tv or Internet which means you can just dedicate your holiday to spending time with loved ones free from distraction. The bedrooms are a good size and the lounge area which we used for an additional bedroom is nice and cool in the evening. The house has been restored to a good, authentic standard and you feel like you are in 'authentic' Tuscany. I can't really say much more about the interior, we spent nearly all our time outside, why would you not with such an amazing view and weather? the local restaurant Sandrino's is amazing, the food is excellent and the service makes you want to go back again and again, which we did (6 times). The beaches nearby are clean with a great view of the Dolomites in the background. Lucca is also worth a trip. If you are a cyclist, take your bike! There are some great rides to be had in the local vicinity.

All in all our holiday at Casa della Vista rates as one of my favourite holidays ever, the location, the people, the food, the friendliness of the owner were all perfect, it was with a heavy heart that we left.

Highly recommended. We WILL be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nohing worth noting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
456Annes
Todmorden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just what I hoped a stay in the Tuscan mountains would be ......idyllic!”
Reviewed 5 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

What you read about this property is what you get (and more!) As a family we wanted to stay in a very 'local' area to get a true feel of Tuscany, but also wanted to be able to visit other cities. This we achieved by staying here. We were able to relax in peace on our 'chilling out' days and had everything in the property to be able to do so comfortably.
Kevin (the owner) was also so very helpful with any information before we set off, which set us off on holiday in very relaxed manner. Thank You, couldn't have asked for any more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$136
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing