We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home in Edzell”

Review of Birch Cottage

A warm welcome awaits you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm welcome awaits you!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
A warm welcome awaits you!
Relax and re-charge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Edzell, Brechin, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Glenwalke...
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from Home in Edzell”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Over the years we have spent a lot of our holidays in rental cottages as we like the freedom to do our own thing. Generally, there are always issues, some minor, some major. We can honestly say though that Birch Cottage was excellent in every way and it was a pleasure to stop there. Clean, comfortable and spacious with every thing we needed immediately to hand. Lovely walks on your doorstep in a village and glens I have known and loved for many years. Edzell may be small but it is the gateway to some of the lovliest glens and wildlife you will see anywhere, and if you like golf, well....
Good restaurants, afternoon teas etc nearby and can definitely recommend the local butcher!
Thanks to Debbie the owner for making us feel so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The abilty to sit both inside and outside the property in lovely surroundings
Liked least: Our length of stay was too short
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley P
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Birch Cottage with my husband and 10year old son. The cottage is beautifully decorated, light and spacious with everything you need. The courtyard is a little haven to relax in, especially if you get good weather like we did. The location is perfect; there is a golf course and driving range five minutes away and beautiful walks close by. Birch Cottage is a great base to see the North East of Scotland. We had a great week and we were really impressed that we have booked it again for next year. Debbie and Colin made our stay very comfortable.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19Chas69
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Truly Home From Home”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed at Birch Cottage for 4 weeks with sons. Wonderful and we don't want to leave. Immaculate,modern and charming, everything you need. Made feel so welcome. Would definite return.
Charlie and Family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm feeling and cleanliness of cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Absolutely fantastic, clean, spacious and very well decorated. Everything we could have needed was in Birch Cottage for cooking meals in the evening. Edzell was quiet, peaceful but still had the amenities we needed, a shop etc. Debbie was a great host and made us feel very welcome, giving us helpful tips on where to go for lunch and walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpkingd
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a very peaceful 4 day break at the cottage. Had everything we needed and was delightfully cosy. Hours drive from Glenshee allowed us an easy day on the slopes during our stay. Debbie and Colin were terrific hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and stylish
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$132
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing