We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
1
2
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
2
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one week during a conference and was very disappointed with it. I’m not convinced previous reviews are an accurate portrayal of this very basic hotel. Arrived late and while my room was clean there was no water to wash with (in hand basin or shower). When water did arrive the next day it was a very weak trickle and not hot (or even warm). My colleagues also relayed similar/worse tales. It was winter in July and the rooms do not have any insulation so be prepared to wrap up when going to bed. The shower set up is an electric shock waiting to happen. I eventually got a trickle of hot water after the shower was ‘fixed’. The staff are very friendly and do try to help out but with such basic facilities on offer they have a tough job to keep customers happy. The food was plentiful but rather bland and lacking variety. I won’t stay here again; there are better accommodation options in Nakuru if you can cope with the 30-60 drive to Egerton University.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank DrLSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

The hotel is located with the Main Campus of Egerton University in Njoro town. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly. It has good conferencing facilities and the University sells its own yoghurt, honey and strawberries at affordable rates.

Residents at the hotel can use the University's grounds for jogging.

However, night are a bit chilly so it is best to carry warm clothing.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main block.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank crisO8786WZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

I stay here regularly due to business at Egerton University. The hotel is on campus, about 30 minutes by car from Nakuru. It is a simple, clean hotel with very helpful staff. The Internet is very sporadic, occasionally works in the public areas (not the bedrooms). There are good meeting facilities here. Buffet meals served, but you can also order small items if you don't want the full buffet. The university's large swimming pool is on the grounds of the hotel, and it looks very clean and attractive -- but too cold for me! This is a good choice for anyone with business at Egerton or in the small town of Njoro.

Room Tip: The rooms are spread out over a large area, and the walk to your room at night can be dark (though the path is lit and very safe).
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank A0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

we had gone for a training seminar at this lovely hotel. little did i suspect how cold this place was. any traveler going to this place should carry warm clothes for the evening especially in the months of June and July.
the place is nicely landscaped with plenty of rooms in very quite setup. the rooms are also tidy with big closets for storing luggage
the only disappointment is in the sanitary ware which could use some
renovation to give it that classy look.
the food is more or less standard with nothing for those with rich taste buds.
there conference facilities are good
the hotel is located in an farm setup complete with many variety of crops growing around.
a nice worthwhile visit.

Room Tip: room on the 1st floor have a better view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank suzannewhitedove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana O, Guest Relations Manager at ARC Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2014

Hello Suzanne,

Thank you for your review. It is indeed cold in this place hence there is a need to carry warm.clothes. We are working on renovating our room s and hopefully when you come back our rooms and bathrooms will have a classy look. It was nice having you around and I hope you will visit our hotel soon.

Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews