We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful & Secluded Feeling”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage Entrance
Walled Garden Pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Cottage Entrance
Walled Garden
Pond
Living diner
Living room from the entrance
Living diner
Entrance
Kitchen
Living room
Twin room
Twin room
Twin room
Master room
Master room
Master room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Poundgate Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crowborough, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
SAB1276
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Cottage in a beatifull area.”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage itself is great. Nice bathroom, good ktichen and it was clean. The only thing i did not like about the interior was the size of the double bed. As i am 1,92 meter tall it was too short and rather narrow too. Luckily there are two single beds which me tied together and we slept good. We brought our dog (Border Terrier) and he loved to play in the garden. The garden is only partly enclosed by a wall and rabbits, squirrels and pheasants visit the garden so you have to keep your dog in sight all of the time or tie the dog to a long line. That was not what we expected. In front of the house and behind the garden wall is a very busy road where cars drive at least 50 mph. I crossed that road twice a day to walk the dog in the forrest and i didn't enjoy the crossing.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anglophil...
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful & Secluded Feeling”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed for a week in July 2015 at Poundgate Park Cottage with my mother and a friend. This rental is now in the top two of my all time favorite rentals in England. Although off a busy A road the cottage is set behind a brick garden wall. Coming through the gate door the cottage entry is about 60' down a gravel path, so noise from the road was never an issue. The grounds are lovely and you feel secluded and apart from the world. There is an double glass door leading form the kitchen,dining, living area to a decked eating area overlooking the grounds, just lovely for a meal or to enjoy the surroundings. As an overseas visitor linens and bath towels, nice large ones, being provided are a big plus. In unit laundry facilities were also very convenient and a big plus. The only negative for us were we think the mattresses need to be changed. My friend in the double thought it rather lumpy and mine had a distinct slant to it. If not for this issue I would have given an "Excellent" rating. Otherwise a great property which I will recommend and would return to if ever planning to stay in the area on a future trip. There is one step within the unit, so good for someone with minor mobility issues and a shower room so no issues there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting of the property itself and overall location
Liked least: Matresses and no plastic food storage items to use in the refridgerator
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ollywicke...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely well presented cottage”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had an excellent stay here over the New Year. The cottage is fairly compact, but the four of us never felt cramped. The facilities were excellent, and the decor and level of finish were first class. The cottage is within a walled garden and feels secluded even though it's just off a very busy A-road.

The area is great for walking, with Ashdown Forest literally across the road. The pub opposite is part of a chain that offers a fairly standard sub-gastropub menu, and the beer was decently kept.

Overall, the cottage kept us warm and very comfortable during what was a frosty week. If we return to the area, we'll definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Decor and level of finish
Liked least: Bathroom was beautiful, but the floor was freezing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Reviewed 19 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners, such a friendly family!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed 13 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$167
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing