We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house near the sea”
other travellers have booked this property
Our lovely traditional Cornish cottage: Glenmount House, Portreath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our lovely traditional Cornish cottage: Glenmount House, Portreath
Lounge 1: Sit by the open fire and watch a classic movie using Apple TV Lounge 2: Relaxation room with board games, Wii, X-box, fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Our lovely traditional Cornish cottage: Glenmount House, Portreath
Lounge 1: Sit by the open fire and watch a classic movie using Apple TV
Lounge 2: Relaxation room with board games, Wii, X-box, fireplace
Lounge 2: Relaxation room with board games, Wii, X-box, fireplace
Spacious kitchen with Rayburn (also a built-in oven), induction hob, washing machine and dishwasher
Original features abound: the bedroom fireplace
Roll top bath, great for relaxing and letting yourself unwind
Woodland walks. Walk out of the front door and be in the woods within seconds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely house near the sea”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We came as an extended family group with 3 young boys. The house is in a lovely spot and is spacious and comfortable. The woods are just opposite and Portreath beach a short walk away. James at surfing HQ (run by the house owners) kitted us all out with body boards and wetsuits which was great fun. There are good cafes and restaurants nearby and Claire gave us some good tips for things to do nearby. Altogether a fantastic trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
It's lovely to read that you had a lovely stay at Glenmount House Mary. I know you got lucky with the weather, which was an absolute bonus for October half term. We'd love to welcome you back at any time and are delighted that you enjoyed a session in the waves. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
steveBirk...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent holiday”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wow! what a great place to stay, Claire and Dave have a beautiful holiday home, and both were really welcoming and helpful. The house is ideally situated about 5 mins walk or less on a skateboard to the beach. The beach itself is excellent, sandy with rockpools caves, and waves. And spectacular coastal wlaks. To the right of the house are Illogan woods a lovely woodland walk with stupidly big rope swing!!! Tehidy woods are nearby and afford more lovely woodland walks. I would also reccomend ( for younger kids) the Gruffalo tour up the hill at Gwn mar holiday spa and farm. All in all an excellent weeks holiday, we got lucky with the weather and will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beach
Liked least: the queue at the fish and chip shop!!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digoldey
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted with provisions of wine, butter and fresh bread which was a lovely touch and much appreciated.
The house was everything and more. Very comfortable and beautifully furnished. The resort is small and the local residents were very helpful and friendly. The kids loved the beach with its sandy bay and rock pools.
I would recommend this to anyone looking to have a quiet family holiday.
Thank you Claire and Dave - we will definitely be making a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Manningtree, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful, well-appointed Cornish holiday cottage!”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for the last week in July at Glenmount House, in Portreath and very much enjoyed our stay. We went away with my brother and his young family and there was plenty of room for us all to spread out - two reception rooms and kitchen/diner. There are also games consoles - Wii and PS2 along with lots of games, and Apple TV and Wifi. And traditional games, books, buckets/spades/fishing nets too!

Claire and Dave were always friendly and helpful with advice on what to do and a list of restaurant recommendations, and provided local taxi numbers when we decided to have a night out where nobody had to drive. (Blue Bar - the next town along to the north - Porthtowan, - live guitar/open mic one night, and general lively buzz with good beer and great sea views - you can't book a table so it's good to get there early!) We had a great time bodyboarding surfing and kayaking and you can also get surfing lessons from the shop on the beach - Surf HQ, which is Dave's shop - so he's there for all the advice/info/hire etc there too. There are some great places to explore in a kayak. The beach is nice sand and good for making sand-castles with moats! We also took our mountain bikes and did the coast-to-coast along the old tram-lines from Portreath to Devoran past all the old mines, which was interesting. There are two cycle-hire places really nearby too - Elm Farm and another more towards Devoran.

We also used the little bakery, small mini-market, and went to a couple of pubs (Portreath Arms and the Basset Arms) and we used the Atlantic Cafe quite a bit. They do a good coffee in there, snacks and ales and it's near the beach - there's also a small beach cafe on the beach by the steps which is handy for a quick bite or cold drink. We also had a good meal at the 'terrace' restaurant which is just a short walk up the hill past the farm where you can pet the animals. They have a kind of a Spanish Cornish mix menu - had some lovely seafood there.

I know this might sound like a micro detail but some places we have stayed before have been a bit tight with the kitchen basics (e.g. only two dishwasher tablets and a few grains of salt.) Everything was well-provided for, and it just makes such a difference! Knives were sharp, and the bathroom products were good too.

When the weather was good we took our breakfast on the sheltered, sunny, wooden terrace in the garden. There's a lovely view from there. We didn't get round to having our barbecue that we had planned in the end, mainly because we were out for whole days at a time, but there is one included with the properly.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, Thank you, Claire and Dave xx

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing