We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, ideal for a couple that enjoy...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gulls Cry Bungalow

Portreath beach from Western Hill above the bungalow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Portreath beach from Western Hill above the bungalow
The beach at Portreath - just a few yards away View from the costal path wihich goes past the bungalow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Portreath beach from Western Hill above the bungalow
The beach at Portreath - just a few yards away
View from the costal path wihich goes past the bungalow
The Bungalow
The Lounge
The kitchen
The kitchen
Main bedroom
Shower room
Fabulous view from kitchen
Lounge with bunk room beyond
Kitchen
The bungalow far left in Smugglers Cove
Smugglers end of the beach
Portreath
Harbour wall
Smugglers Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Mike B
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, ideal for a couple that enjoy cliff walks”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Tucked away in Smugglers Cove at Portreath, Gulls Cry Bungalow met all our needs. It is small but well designed and equipped, and great for exploring the North Coast of Cornwall from St Ives up to Newquay. Potreath is a real curate's egg, lovely sunsets, beautiful views from the beach and cliffs, and some nice cafes. We were recommended to try the Portreath Arms for evening meals but we enjoyed our evenings on the cliffs, preferring to have our main meals for lunch. Portreath Harbour hasn't got much going for it, the seaweed smells terrible, but as long as the wind prevails from the south or south west it isn't a problem (except for tose who live downwind!). The owners were friendly and helpful, without interrupting our break. This is not for luxury seekers but people who just want a stress-free break it is ideal. There is a small second bedroom with two bunk beds and a private outside area, but I would suggest any more than two adults and two small children (aged 5-12) this property would be a bit cramped. We thoroughly enjoyed it though.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Patri...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well situated bungalow”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Easy access to coastal path and beach and into village, two nice pubs for evening meals.
Well equipped kitchen, only downside was the poor mattress on double bed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquelyn...
Great Barr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely couple welcomed us straight away as we arrived, it felt home from home. Our bungalow was lovely clean, and fresh on arrival with plenty of room inside. I cooked a full meal every night, as we have to be health conscious these days both in our 50's ! Additionally a nice outdoor area to look onto the beach with our glass of wine, I honestly cannot think of a better view, there was something to watch on the beach every day even horse riders. Getting to the property is a steep hill, but to be honest once parked up it was better without a car, as the walks are to die for being right next to a National Trust protected beach trail just bliss. There is a small set of shops and a fantastic bakery which I had to have a Cornish pasty on my last day, it would be wrong not to ! (try to ignore the health conscious bit!) Trying to get another week in October or later but can only hope. The best bit the peace and tranquility, the least thing coming home ! My son at 18 loved every minute and popping down the beach then back in less that 5 minutes great. Wonderful you would really miss a gem if you didn't stay here never felt so rested.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and warm welcome
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockypudd...
Manchester, England
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“EXCELLENT VALUE AND LOCATION”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My partner and I stayed here for a week. The bungalow is clean and tidy, the oven and hob were spotless as were all the utensils and crockery.
The living and kitchen areas are spacious, with views of the sea and beach from the kitchen window and outside area where there is a table and chairs.
The location is excellent. The coastal path is at the bottom of the steps leading up to the property and there is a 30m path leading down to the beach just off the car parking area.
The town is a short walk away. We had two excellent well priced meals at the Basset Arms in the town.
The owners of the bungalow are nice and friendly and pleased to help you if you need it.
We would definitely book this bungalow next time we visit Cornwall.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Blinds
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing