We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home with lots of space”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious kitchen dining room, with two utility rooms.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Spacious kitchen dining room, with two utility rooms.
Master bedroom looking towards the landing
Master bedroom with very comfortable king sized bed
Split level room - double bed
Split level room - single bed
Bunkbed room with two full sized single beds (suitable for adults too)
First floor mezzanine balcony room being used as a second seating area
First floor mezzanine balcony room being used as a fourth bedroom.
Balcony area looking from bed. You can shut the white screens for privacy
First floor shower room off main landing
Looking into the main lounge area with the balcony above
Ground floor plan
First floor plan
Beautiful Ashwell with St Mary's Church tower in the background
Three Tuns Pub (one of three very good pubs in Ashwell) only 7 minutes walk from Alder Barn
Bushel and Strike Pub with its beer garden
Ashwell High Street with its lovely Tudor houses
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Ashwell, Hertfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rickhem
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful home with lots of space”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My family of 5 stayed here for a week. Part way through we were joined by three additional family members making 8 of us staying for a few nights. The house easily accommodated our group with 4 bedrooms upstairs (including a loft area that has a pull out double bed plus full bathroom). The house is in a small quadrangle of buildings which is a bit unusual but works out just fine. The local businesses that are nearby don't open until 10AM and all close by 6PM. Even when they are open there is no issue as noise is very low or not at all. The home is spacious with a big kitchen to gather in and an enormous living room with vaulted ceilings that is so comfortable! The town of Ashwell is quiet and set in the surrounding fields and countryside of England which allowed us to take wonderful walks out and then back into town. Superb bakery right around the corner for morning pastries and coffee which we visited every day (except Sunday when it is closed). 5 minutes drive gets you to the train station that has twice per hour trains to London and also Cambridge. Or you can drive the 30minutes to Cambridge which we did a few times. The booking, payment and deposit/refund were all handled easily and professionally. I'd highly recommend Alder Barn!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely message, we are so glad that you had a great stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison W
Caithness and Sutherland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay.”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at Alder barn myself, husband, sons,my mum and dad,we went down from Scotland for my bother in law funeral it was great we could all stay together.
It is a great place to stay plenty of room for all very sad time because of what we were there for but would go back again for a break very nice parking is available but because of where it is you have a hairdresser, and other office s there sometimes parking was a little difficult other then that all very good would use it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all good
Liked least: Parking is on first come basis no allocated parking.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Dear Allison

Thank you for your review, we are glad that the barn provided a comfortable place for your family at a sad time. Sorry you found the parking a little difficult, I must admit it's not a problem we've encountered before, but maybe a busy couple of days.

Kind regards, Abi.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TVASltd
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We booked here on behalf of our staff members who were working locally and needed a place to stay close to site. They were delighted with the standard of the accommodation, the owner Abi couldn't have been more helpful, and they thoroughly enjoyed their down time in the fantastic social space. Would thoroughly recommend this holiday let for a get away at any time of the year!

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We're really glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at Alder Barn and we hope that you had some good archaeological finds!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geochap1
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Very comfortable and up to date accommodation in a great location. Excellent value. Thoroughly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
We're glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno C
1 review
“Amazing building, really comfortable”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Really good building, we had a great time. Tvs, books, games, comfortable sofas and beds and a really cool drive to the place. Will visit again! Thanks

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Thank you for your review, glad you had a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing