We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastically Well Appointed Cottage”

Review of The Grain House

The Grain House side and front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom
The kitchen
The entrance hall
The sitting room
The garden from main bedroom balcony
Rear view from the garden
The River Stour
The family room
Family room dining area
'Vine' bedroom
'Rose' bedroom
Another view of the kitchen
Utility/boot room
Entrance hall and cloakroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stoke by Clare, Clare, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Smallks73
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastically Well Appointed Cottage”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We booked the Grain House as a group of eight to see in the New Year in style and this place did not disappoint us.
From the moment we arrived we were impressed with the design, layout, attention to detail and cleanliness. We were a group of 4 adults, two teenagers, two kids & two dogs and this place offered something to keep everyone happy. The owner, George, was lovely, very polite, gave us everything we needed and is on hand if you need him but did not disturb us otherwise. The two sitting areas worked well for kids/grown-ups and the games room was a real winner for the kids. The dogs loved the long walks and impressive gardens and the adults loved a (plastic) glass of bubbles in the hot tub once the kids had finally worn themselves out! We’ve re-booked for next year within 48hrs of returning home – loved it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for the review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay, and I'm very much looking forward to welcoming you again next year. We always like to have friendly guests back who leave the house in such good order. We enjoyed the fireworks display as well. I hope you all have a wonderful 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileenabb...
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“The property lived up to the images on the website”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were visiting Suffolk for a fmaily wedding and staying in such a lovely property, of a high standard added to the weekend's events. The little details were well thought out, even down to socket covers - we had a toddler with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
Thank you for the review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again sometime. Attention to detail is so important for us to maintain the 5* rating and it's always nice when this is recognised. I must say you were an absolute pleasure to have as guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiverseTr...
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great weekend escape”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Had a great weekend away with 5 friends. The house was very welcoming arriving on a wet, dark Friday night after a busy week at work. Once the fire was lit, wine poured, dinner cooking we felt very at home!
The hot tub was thoroughly enjoyed by all.
We spent a lot of time in the house due to the weather being rubbish the space in the house was even more appreciated. We did venture out to Lavenham but the rain spoilt the beauty of the place but made the tea room even more inviting!
Hope to be back again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that the house made up for the atrocious weather! The space it offers is a great bonus if you have to stay indoors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Sadl...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family cottage jackpot”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at The Grain House as two families (4 adults, 3 kids, 1 baby) and loved everything about it. The house is furnished to a really high standard with loads of space, comfortable furnishings and great lighting. The hot tub was a huge hit with kids and grown ups alike, the outside space was lovely and the amazing wine and cheese shops on the doorstep were firm favourites by the end of the week. And that's not to mention the well stocked games barn, plus cupboard of board games and puzzles. The Grain House ticked so many boxes it'll be hard to beat for next time. We would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thanks for the lovely comments, we do our utmost to get it right!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph C
2 reviews
“Great!”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Really nice, well organised and well looked after house. The hot tub and fire places were great! We stayed with as a group of 7 and the house more than big enough for everyone to have their own space and communal areas! Would visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$337
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing