We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”

Review of The Grain House

The Grain House side and front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom
The kitchen
The entrance hall
The sitting room
The garden from main bedroom balcony
Rear view from the garden
The River Stour
The family room
Family room dining area
'Vine' bedroom
'Rose' bedroom
Another view of the kitchen
Utility/boot room
Entrance hall and cloakroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stoke by Clare, Clare, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PaulBr59
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The family needed some where to stay for an extended weekend, so i had choosen the grain house and what a fantastic choice it turned out to be. The thought and planning that has gone
into this accommodation has produced a welcoming and relaxing environment, there were six adults in the house but we were never on top of each other.

Our favourite place to "chill out" was in the hot tub! quite a strange experince sitting in the warmth as the temp drops around you and frost forms on the grass.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hot tub
Liked least: nothing at all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2015
Thanks for your kind words. It's lovely to know when we get things right.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viatrixla...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, welcoming and well maintained house”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We rented this lovely house for a long weekend so that we could celebrate the first birthday of the youngest member of our family. Everything about the house was well thought out and very practical as well as being comfortable and attractive. We entered through the utility room where there was lots of space to leave dirty shoes and wet coats. The main living/dining area was next to the kitchen and had a lovely log burning stove with plenty of logs. The floors on the ground floor ware mainly tiled with under floor heating and rugs. It worked very well for us because we had young children with us and more visiting. Lots of old beams on which to hang balloons! The kitchen was really well equipped and appliances were good quality and worked.
The master bedroom on the ground floor was very spacious with a super king sized bed. There was also an ante-room in which we put cots but there were futons too for older children. All bedrooms had their own bathroom/shower room. There was only one twin bedroom upstairs and the roof is steeply pitched so very tall people would have to take care.

Our stay was exactly what we wanted and we would not hesitate to book the Grain House again and to recommend it to others. It is situated next to the big farm house and a barn on site has recently been converted to a wine shop. Marvellous!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2014
It is such a pleasure to see a family gathered together for a special celebration and we are delighted that The Grain House proved to be a successful venue for your 3 generations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UptonGirl...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend, great facilities.”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

From the great communication when we booked from Pippa to the speedy return of our damage deposit we had the a lovely time spending some relaxing and partying with our family and friends - in honour of my husband's special birthday.
The house is very well equipped, lovely decor and the hot tub, fishing from the garden a big bonus for our party.
Pippa very kindly agreed to a few fireworks in honour of the birthday boy.
All in all a super weekend and an ideal place for that special time with a bigger party.
Many thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: roomy and relaxing
Liked least: Futon bed in dressing room
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
We get a lot of pleasure out of people enjoying themselves and kind words are most welcome, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo C
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful haven and ideal for family gatherings”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We can thoroughly recommend the Grain House equally for a family holiday and/or for a quiet escape. The owner's attention to detail and high standards makes this property stand tall above others. The property is superbly maintained and the garden is very private and tranquil. The games room is wonderful for adults and children alike and the hot tub is a great place to relax. Thank you too Pippa for the lovely cake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of fittings
Liked least: Slow internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
It was a pleasure to make your family celebration as perfect as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roli505
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A luxurious cottage (with a hot tub!) in the heart of the countryside.”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We had a wonderful 5 days at The Grain House during the February half-term.

The party consisted of 4 adults, 2 small children and a baby. The accommodation was completed to a high spec and was well equipped (including high-chair and cot). A particular highlight was the outdoor hot tub which we made good use of and the log burner in the lounge.

Pippa and Peter Unwin made booking the stay straight forward. The accommodation was spotless on arrival and they had even left us some home-made shortbread, flowers and milk in the fridge. They were also on hand during our time there, for example to replace a battery in the smoke alarm. Despite my accidental breaking of a bowl, they generously returned our deposit in full.

I would recommend The Grain House to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
It is our aim to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable and we really appreciate your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$229
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing