We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding holiday home”

Review of The Grain House

The Grain House side and front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The Grain House side and front
'Lavender' bedroom
The kitchen
The entrance hall
The sitting room
The garden from main bedroom balcony
Rear view from the garden
The River Stour
The family room
Family room dining area
'Vine' bedroom
'Rose' bedroom
Another view of the kitchen
Utility/boot room
Entrance hall and cloakroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stoke by Clare, Clare, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dianne H
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding holiday home”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Our family ranged from 4 months to 90 years and we all thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The house was amazing, plenty of room for all of us and 100% for cleanliness and very well equipped. The beautiful garden was secure and spacious for our 2 dogs and we were all able to spend many happy hours relaxing there and in the hot tub.
The games rooom was also brilliant but not needed so much by us as we were so lucky with the weather.
Pippa and Peter were very welcoming (delicious cake awaiting our arrival) and were very quick to rectify any problems we encountered.
We will certainly aim to return in the future and wouldn't hesitate to say this was one of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House layout and secure large garden
Liked least: busy road with no pavement
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality accommodation
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SueSurf
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quality!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This house was excellent. It was very tastefully fitted with quality finishes everywhere. This is the first rental property we have stayed in where the quality of the cookware was such that we didn't need our own frying pan, which we invariably pack for making our cooked breakfasts. There were several nice touches that made us feel welcome. The house was equipped with everything you could need and yet remained completely uncluttered in feel. The hot tub was delightful and secluded. The garden was generous and very well fenced for our dog to roam. The views on the walks across the road on the farmland footpaths - which you are welcomed on- were lovely. (Be careful to cross the road and not walk along it though because some of the cars don't go slowly and there is no pavement). Would give this top marks and would certainly be prepared to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it (sorry, I don't know whether there was wi-fi I didn't try to use it)
Liked least: No problems at all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola S
Langdon Hills, Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing place to stay... can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

I booked The Grain House as a weekend get away for myself and a group of friends and i am so glad i did. I thought the photos of the house were lovely but the house itself is even better in the flesh!

It's kitted out with everything you could possible need and the owners even baked us a cake as a welcome gift (which we duly enjoyed with tea as we settled in.)

I really cannot recommend The Grain House enough. Luckily for us the weather wasn't too cold so we even got a couple of uses out of the hot tub in the garden, which was a real bonus.

Several of my group are already thinking about returning with their familes in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of the house was lovely - very welcoming
Liked least: having to go home at the end of our stay
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet470
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 5 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

The accommodation is spacious, even for larger groups. Four of us and 2 dogs stayed using half the house. There was plenty of room and we were extremely comfortable, there is also a good degree of privacy if you are not close family. The accommodation is finished to a high standard and includes everything you could possibly need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2012
The house was left in immaculate order, no evidence of dogs having been there at all. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing