We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunny South facing Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny South facing Terrace
Self-seeded flowers cling to the walls Looking down from the fields to the farm yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Sunny South facing Terrace
Self-seeded flowers cling to the walls
Looking down from the fields to the farm yard
Looking from the fields through trees to the Barn
Books and comfy sofas with the wood burning stove.
The kitchen doors open wide to a paved terrace that catches the morning sun
The long room is perfect for families
Looking down the big room in the Barn
Looking up the big room in the Barn. Scones, eggs and apple juice to welcome you.
Bedroom with 5ft bed and en suite shower room. Stable door opens onto South facing terrace.
The second doubleroom with 5ft bed.
twin room
one of the bunkbeds in the children's room
one of the bunkbeds in the children's room
Slate floored corridor leading to the bedrooms
the foot of the stairs
Pot planted with herbs for your use (in season!)
Freedom to romp through the fields
The river in May
The dogs love to play in the water
Our Shepherd's Hut, tucked away in one of our fields.
Lowenna (Cornish for happiness), our Shepherd's Hut.
Our cosy Shepherd's Hut.
Welcome in the Shepherd's Hut
Kitchen and bathroom for our Shepherd's Hut
Our Shepherd's Hut
View from our Shepherd's Hut
Open fire at our Shepherd's Hut.
Open fire at our Shepherd's Hut
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Launceston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amberli H
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you want space, peace and quiet and a safe place to take your kids exploring - off line! East Penrest is ideal (and yes the wifi is excellent!) This is a perfect place to stay if you want to get the family together for some quality time, with comfortable living and sleeping space available for extended families or friends in this well equipped converted barn. You can walk to the Springer Spaniel gastro dining pub which is delicious with far more than plain average pub food or you can stay home and enjoy some low slow and delicious cooking on the giant aga, maybe even fry yourself some free range organic eggs! The animals are all very well cared for and friendly, and Jess will love you even more if you throw sticks for her! The air is so clean with spray free wholesome living and there are plenty of country walks to tire out little legs - or even big ones! Jo and James will make you feel so welcome you won't want to leave. We left feeling rejuvenated and ready to face the outside world again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, Amberli. Thank you for leaving everything so clean and tidy. We very much enjoyed meeting you all and hope to welcome you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alastairo...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect and welcoming location”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is such an amazing place! The Barn has been lovingly converted and is luxurious while Jo and James were the perfect hosts. They ensured that we were welcomed (the scones and cream welcoming gift was a really nice touch!) and they gave us the opportunity to help on the farm (inviting us to help move sheep!). Having said that, they left us to our own devices so we could enjoy the holiday. The barn had everything we needed and the range cooker (similar to Aga) was a new experience for us town folk! I would recommend this to everybody and I would definitely be coming back. Thank you Jo and James.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The barn, the hosts and the experiences
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you Alastair! We much enjoyed meeting you and your family and friends. We hope we will see you back here some day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosiehoot...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had no idea how luxurious this trip would be. Jo and James have thought of everything. The most country chic holiday you could have. Would recommend to anyone. The most comfortable bed, beautiful interior, fires a plenty, and electricity and hot water in this remote little hut! Fresh scones on arrival, fresh eggs for breakfast and a beautiful view of kit hill. Stayed up half the night making fire in the fire pit and toasting marshmallows. Best country retreat ever xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
Thank you Helen. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Shepherd's Hut!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamHam
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Breath-Taking!”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband and I stayed here in April and words alone cannot describe the amazing experience. We sometimes go caravanning and we always try and find the more remote, least occupied camp-sites so that we can get away from it all. This place was the most ‘get away from it all’ that we have ever stayed (and far more luxurious than mere caravanning!). Unless you have a four wheel drive vehicle, you cannot even take your car there – you are chauffeured in a Land Rover, and you leave your car by the main house. The location of the shepherd’s hut is quite high up (but you are sheltered by hedges and trees so it is not too exposed) so you have a magnificent view over Dartmoor, Bodmin Moor and Kit Hill, and picturesque views down a little valley, of their small lake. The only sounds that can be heard are the sounds of nature. The hut has a little fenced off garden, by a hedge, in the middle of nowhere, and it has a lovely decked area immediately in front of it.
The starry night skies we observed on the clear nights that we had were awesome! There are binoculars in the hut and we laid on the bench, wrapped in blankets, on the decked area, gazing upwards at the stars, with a roaring fire keeping us warm. We live rurally so we are quite used to seeing beautiful starry nights, but this was really special. There is a big pile of neatly chopped wood available for you to build an outdoor fire.
The hut itself is outstanding – it is actually 2 separate huts facing each other – one hut has a king-size bed and a really cute little woodburner (little it may be, but it gets the place really hot!), and the other hut contains the kitchen, a small table & shower/WC. It is very well equipped and immaculate. There are loads of little extras and great thought has been given to every small detail. The bedroom is beautifully decorated and the bed and bedding is superbly clean and very comfortable.
The hospitality of James and Jo is second to none. They gave us a lovely welcome and Jo handed us a basket of hot scones with a jar of homemade jam and clotted cream! In the hut, there was also a bottle of organic apple juice made from their own home grown apples, and 2 eggs from their chickens.
You can choose to do as little or as much as you want here. There are gorgeous nature walks over their land (we did not see a single soul!). If you like fishing, there is river within walking distance. If you want to venture off the farm, there is plenty to do locally. James and Jo are happy to give you a tour of the farm and if you are lucky enough to be visiting during lambing, as we were, this is really nice. On one evening, we walked to the nearby pub (20 min walk) called the Springer Spaniel. I will be doing a separate review of this pub when I get around to it, but we were amazed at the quality of the food here because we are very choosy when it comes to food (we love Real food, and we normally end up with the view that we could have cooked better at home), but this was another area of our break that ticked all the right boxes.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough and it is surely the best short break we have ever had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote beauty but at the same time comfortable luxury
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to welcoming you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya F
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Myself and my partner stayed in the Shepherd's Hut over a long weekend and it was everything that Jo and James described and so much more! It was absolutely perfect.
The thought and care that has been put into the sleeping hut and the kitchen/bathroom hut is incredible and the level of comfort and usability was outstanding. We wanted for nothing and it was a joy to stay in the hut.
The location is breath taking, quiet, secluded and private. Waking up in the morning, sitting on the decking and watching the buzzards and hawks wheeling over the wood in the distance was magic, as was sitting looking at the stars in the night with a roaring fire.
I cannot recommend this enough and look forward to going back as soon as I can.
Thank you for a wonderful break away from the rat race!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you Freya! we will look forward to seeing you here again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing