We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunny South facing Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny South facing Terrace
Self-seeded flowers cling to the walls Looking down from the fields to the farm yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Sunny South facing Terrace
Self-seeded flowers cling to the walls
Looking down from the fields to the farm yard
Looking from the fields through trees to the Barn
Books and comfy sofas with the wood burning stove.
The kitchen doors open wide to a paved terrace that catches the morning sun
The long room is perfect for families
Looking down the big room in the Barn
Looking up the big room in the Barn. Scones, eggs and apple juice to welcome you.
Bedroom with 5ft bed and en suite shower room. Stable door opens onto South facing terrace.
The second doubleroom with 5ft bed.
twin room
one of the bunkbeds in the children's room
one of the bunkbeds in the children's room
Slate floored corridor leading to the bedrooms
the foot of the stairs
Pot planted with herbs for your use (in season!)
Freedom to romp through the fields
The river in May
The dogs love to play in the water
Our Shepherd's Hut, tucked away in one of our fields.
Lowenna (Cornish for happiness), our Shepherd's Hut.
Our cosy Shepherd's Hut.
Welcome in the Shepherd's Hut
Kitchen and bathroom for our Shepherd's Hut
Our Shepherd's Hut
View from our Shepherd's Hut
Open fire at our Shepherd's Hut.
Open fire at our Shepherd's Hut
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Launceston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Freya F
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Myself and my partner stayed in the Shepherd's Hut over a long weekend and it was everything that Jo and James described and so much more! It was absolutely perfect.
The thought and care that has been put into the sleeping hut and the kitchen/bathroom hut is incredible and the level of comfort and usability was outstanding. We wanted for nothing and it was a joy to stay in the hut.
The location is breath taking, quiet, secluded and private. Waking up in the morning, sitting on the decking and watching the buzzards and hawks wheeling over the wood in the distance was magic, as was sitting looking at the stars in the night with a roaring fire.
I cannot recommend this enough and look forward to going back as soon as I can.
Thank you for a wonderful break away from the rat race!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you Freya! we will look forward to seeing you here again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Peace!”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I stayed in the Shepherd Huts for 4 nights in the middle of July, and we absolutely loved it!
So much care and attention to detail has gone into the creation of these huts, they are beautiful. It truly is "glamping" at its finest! The little extras (the log burner, fire pit) all made such a difference. It was lovely to snuggle up in the hut in the evening with the log burner keeping it all cosy! (It rained quite a bit when we stayed).
Jo and James (the hosts) were absolutely lovely, so hospitable and accommodating. Anything we needed they provided.
The setting is beautiful and we had a really peaceful stay, with lots of much needed rest. We had lovely walks around their stunning grounds. The location is great, very easy to get to anywhere from it - we visited Bude, St Austell, Pen Hallow.
We will definitely be staying again, and would recommend this to anyone whatever age - especially if you like the great outdoors, but also enjoy your home comforts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swedish compostable toilet! The attention to detail, yet the simplicity of it all!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your review. We will look forward to welcoming you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We first started coming to East Penrest farm when the children were age 3 (twins) and 5. That first time we stayed in the bungalow, which was perfect as my disabled father also came with us. The bungalow was private and cosy and yet accessible to the farm and all its attractions and activities. Since then we have visited each year and stayed in the barn (also having disabled facilities), which is huge and full of charm (and books), sometimes inviting friends to stay with us. The children are now age 10 and 12 and say that East Penrest is their favourite place in the world. This year we stayed twice, and helped out at Easter with the lambing (an unforgettable experience). The beautiful main window in the living area of the barn looks onto the farm below, and you can even watch a lamb being born from the comfort of your sofa!
East Penrest is located in an idyllic setting; it combines pastoral beauty with old fashioned outdoors adventure. The children spend their days helping out on the farm, exploring the many fields, paddling and fishing in the River Inney, drawing and playing together (not always the case at home!) As the years go by, we spend less time away from the farm, although when we do there is plenty to do and see. Our favourites places to visit are Trebarwith Strand (a beautiful tidal beach with rock pools you can swim in - but check tide times), nearby Cowslip Farm (which has a fabulous haberdashery and quilting museum as well as great cafe), and Morwellham Quay (a living history old copper mine).
For more intimate accommodation, there is the very special shepherd's hut (that Cath Kidson would be proud of), which is located in a nearby field but very private with wonderful views (perhaps for us in another 8-10 years...)
What makes East Penrest really special though are Jo and James and their wonderful family. They have turned our city-living, animal phobic children into animal loving country-lovers, who like nothing more than playing games in the barn on a rainy day or helping move sheep from one field to another. As my daughter says frequently, it really seems like 'heaven on earth'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The idyllic setting and all the farming activities
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very much looking forward to your help at lambing next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dafeets
Snoqualmie, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely barn conversion with plenty of room for the nine of us.

Beautiful part of the country and we all enjoyed exploring the farm as far as the river.

Thanks Jo and James for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Thanks also to Mary for a lovely lasagne and delicious hot fudge pud!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bec H
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Our New Favourite Place in the World”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My fiancé and I had the pleasure of staying at East Penrest Farm in July earlier this year. We stayed in the Shepherd's Hut - a delightful mini cottage fully equipped with wood-fire heater, and excellent kitchen and bathroom facilities. James and Jo Rider have thought of absolutely everything to make their guests comfortable. The Hut is not only functional but also very stylish with tasteful decor down to the finest detail. We were even greeted with freshly made scones on our arrival! Set atop a hill with stunning views of the surrounding farmland, one could happily stay put but we also made use of the proximity to the various stunning sites of Cornwall. Easily accessible to both north and south coastlines for exploring the neighbouring villages. Having travelled all the way from Tasmania, this was a certain highlight of our trip to the UK and East Penrest Farm is our new favourite place in the world! We will be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your kind words! We'll look forward to seeing you here again next time you are in the UK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing