We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
364
92
29
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
92
29
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roots restaurant free margaritas puerto rico tiki hut rum bar post hurricane hurricane damage quiet pool vacation club breakfast buffet small casino fire pit great property self parking an ocean view room room rate the entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed 8 days! The hotel is wonderful, the staff was always cordial and gracious! Here goes my list:
PROS-
1. Private beach. Open from morning until 5 PM. They close early due to turtles laying eggs.
2. Two restaurants to pick from. Margaritaville/5 O clock somewhere and The Tiki Hut. We tried the Tiki Hut and the food was amazing.
3. Marbella restaurants breakfast buffet is definitely worth it! For $22 a person we had an amazing breakfast and cafe con leche.
4. The private adult pool is WOW! having kids on a separate pool really makes sense!
5. Book the flamenco/culebra tour from the hotel. Definitely worth it!
6. Housekeeping always on time and kept everything clean.
7. The careless entry to rooms!! WOW... Talk about year 3000! You get a bracelet to get it which makes it easier than carrying a card to get in.
8. Small fridge in room is convenient.
9. Activities through out the day are open to all guests.

CONS:
1. The resort is literally up on a hill and the closest convenience store is about 2-3 miles away walking. Definitely need a car if you want to go out and shop around. Otherwise hotel food it is, I know at tiki hut plates run about $15 a piece. Marbella offers breakfast and lunch and that’s a little more expensive.
2. We were not able to do El Yunque or San Juan tour as the hotel did not have enough people to get the tour done.
3. Don’t pay for the San Juan tour. Is $85 per person for only 3 hours at San Juan. Get a taxi instead and you can be there as long as you want for less than $85 per trip and up to 3-4 people depending on the size of vehicle.
4. We did not have a car so we were limited to where we could go. I regret not being able to go to Luquillo beach. The closest convenience store “Las Piscuas Convenience Store” has quite a variety but is pricey (bread $3.19, ham and cheese about $3-$4, 24 pack of water $3.99, plastic bags are $.15 piece)

Overall, I recommend the resort is just amazing!!!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank monicae459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

This is the second time in a year, and the first time we had a little inconvenience with the neighbors. But the whole experience was so wonderful that we decided to give it a second chance. And we came with the hole family, and was the best trip. Thanks!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rerigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

A beautiful hotel, excellent activities, family friendly. We were there for both a conference and a family vacation, and both were extremely good. We returned home on Sunday morning (July 1), and are already (July 7) planning our next vacation there. Thank you, Wyndham Grand!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank susanrtullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Sometimes the staff makes all the difference, as it did at this hotel. Everyone, from bellman to bar staff was warm, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay excellent. The property has reopened after the hurricane and is looking well. One restaurant is still undergoing refurbishment, but the other two were excellent - especially Roots for steaks. The pool bars are nice for a quick meal, as well. Prices are high, but what do you expect at a resort? The beach is clean and spacious, although high waves prevented us from enjoying the ocean. I ended up sitting by one of the pools all day being pampered by the staff, while my husband was at convention on site. One thing I'd like to see is more fresh fruit and juices available all day long, either at the coffee bar or the gift shop.

Overall, this resort, like most of Puerto Rico is coming back. Some amenities, such as tours, are limited because of lack of tourists, but those should come back in time.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank dinabsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

The business trip stay was very good. The workers were very friendly. The food was good. The TV
reception stinks. The Hotel should resolve the TV issue because it really reflects on the quality of service received at the hotel.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bruceflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews