We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
222
15
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
15
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed and breakfast palm room every morning beach towels sticky toffee other guests cemetery beach grand cayman seven mile beach b and b the main house breakfast is served rooms are lovely home from home morgan's harbor great hosts the coconut french toast
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a MONTH while we visited with our son who lives in Grand Cayman. It was a lovely, quiet oasis in West Bay. We did not rent a car (most people do to see all the tourist things however we’ve seen them all as it’s our 6th visit) but used the bikes that Dean provided. It was fabulous..... good exercise.... and we could visit with our son every day. Trust me after you eat one of Dean’s breakfasts you need to pedal for an hour or two.
We stayed in the Oleander room which was very comfortable. We had our own bathroom, TV, and fridge which came in handy as we bought groceries for light dinners after a huge breakfast and equally large, late lunch. We used the spacious, well-equipped kitchen in the main house for prep and ate on the lanai. It was lovely. Some hot lazy afternoons were spent in the cool breezes by the pool. It was lovely to have our own wine and beer in our fridge for such afternoons. Dean also has cold drinks and a few snacks to purchase, if you’re having a little craving, for a dollar. Payment is the honour system with a little basket on the counter. We felt very comfortable using the large living room as well in the evenings if we wanted to get out of our room or I didn’t want to listen to TV but read instead.
Lots of restaurants close by and some are close enough to walk to. (Catch, Calypso Grill, and Commodore)
All in all we had a marvellous month at the Shangri-La B and B. Book it you won’t be sorry!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank GrandCaymanMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Like many I didn’t think of myself as a B&B person but staying here was better than any island 4 star hotel. First the exceptional breakfasts served on a porch overlooking a lagoon with funny, friendly other guests comparing thoughts on island offerings and just laughing a lot. The fact breakfast is a few steps away and the pool and hot tub are just a few steps away from your room but avoiding the long walks (and unsupervised kids) at a full size resort. This is the perfect island stay which will bring a smile to your face months after you’ve returned. Thanks Dean you made our vacation a real joy!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

We truly enjoyed our week here! Dean and his staff of Marisa and Venus met every possible need. Wonderful breakfast served each morning. Grounds are manicured and beautiful. The rooms are lovely and well appointed. Quiet adult atmosphere. Met travelers from many places and enjoyed chatting .Location is perfect for roaming the island

Room Tip: Royal Palm opens to pool
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianneland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

We loved our short stay at the Shangri La! Dean was a fantastic host, very helpful with arranging taxis etc and accommodating.

The location is very peaceful and tranquil, the house is beautiful and picturesque, we couldn’t have hoped for more!

Breakfast was always great, especially meeting other guests and sharing stories of our trips and getting ideas and tips on things to do!

We walked and took local buses quite a lot which were really cost effective and easy to use once you get the hang of them, and the buses go to all the main points of interest that you would need to get to.

The house also has snorkel equipment, beach bags, beach towels etc which is great.. we borrowed them regularly and walked to Cemetery Beach for some great snorkelling (about a 20 min walk from the property)

I’d highly recommend this place to stay.. just keep in mind that you will either need a car or be happy using taxis/or happy to do a 10/15 min walk (in the heat) to get to the main bus route!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank IrishJoeFulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Lovely quiet location. Comfortable rooms, all with their own unique touch. Dean and his staff really make you feel welcome. Really spoil you with the breakfasts.
There are 3 restaurants within a few minutes walk but to fully appreciate the island we would recommend hiring a car.
We have stayed in a lot of B&B's around the world and this one rates as one of the best.
Thank you Dean and staff for making our stay so perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rita-Derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews