We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea and cake overpriced”
Review of The Angel Inn

The Angel Inn
Ranked #15 of 56 Restaurants in Ferndown
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: British, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Eight of us went in wanting a cup of tea and a slice of cake each, having eyed up the cakes on a previous visit! Easy enough? Service extreeeemely slow. Eventually the wrong number of pots of tea were brought. I had no cup and had to ask for one. Then two cups were brought - both dirty! Asked for clean cup. It took so long I resorted to drinking my tea out of a glass which was on the table. Teacake and jam arrived for my friend but it was marmalade! Were told there was no jam and the amount of butter for a large teacake was miniscule. We were amazed when we came to pay that the pot of tea for one was £4.50!!!! Extortionate. The one saving grace was that the Victoria Sponge was very nice.
Meals might be fine but don't bother for a cuppa.

    • Value
    • Food
1  Thank julesp34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and date of visit and email us at:
guestfeedback@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to this pub Easter Sunday with all my family we had lunch time meal very nice good busy pub although it was really busy that day the only thing I could criticise was staff did not clear away the plates From our table had to take 6 lots of dishes back to the bar as they were left for an hour after our meal so need to look at this guys apart from that keep up the good work will be going back soon barratt family

Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I decided we'd try the Angel; we'd not been there since it was refurbished.
Unfortunately, the portion sizes were not worth the money and my husband and I were still hungry when we left. My duck dish had two potatoes and a spoonful of spinach-not enough for the almost £16 price tag. Disappointing and while we'd go there for a drink, we wouldn't bother with food again.

1  Thank Katem1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and date of visit and email us at:
guestfeedback@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visit the angel often, we approve of the refurb. The gardens are lovely, the children and dogs enjoy them. Although the menu is limited, the food was good on our most recent visit. Nice friendly accommodating staff and an over all relaxed atmosphere. Great for dogs also, our chow enjoyed her doggy ice cream :)

Thank Dorsetmumma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope you can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our favorite place,as soon as the tenants changed it went down hill.
Probably won't last with the new tenants

Thank PEEWEE201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. The Angel has had a refurbishment but the management hasn't changed so a bit confused by your comment. We do hope that you will return..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Angel Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing