We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southwest Airlines Affordability and Rewardability”
Review of Southwest Airlines


Reviewed 17 February 2020 via mobile

Flew Jan.15th, early morning from PHL to SJU with a transfer in Orlando FL. Cabin stewards and ground crew all cordial and friendly.
Return flight on 1/27 had brief layover in Tampa before arriving
@ PHL on time. Because if our Southwest Rewards Credit Card, flights were free.

Date of travel: February 2020
Thank waynehJ2208BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (43 927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 441 - 1 445 of 43 927 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2020

Southwest is our preferred airline! Flight was on time and onboard service was excellent. Albert the wheelchair attendant at PIT was wonderful!

The following remarks apply to FLL contractors unless they are Southwest employees. FLL curbside check-in and Wheelchair staging need improvement. No help from agent unloading bags from car to scales for tagging to destination. Supposedly agent dispatching wheelchairs did so by boarding time. However she insisted on taking disabled person's boarding pass , but made us wait 25 minutes so aircraft was already boarding and wheelchair attendant responsible for clearing TSA security to gate was unnecessarily burdened by delay. We barely made the flight!.

Upon arrival in FLL, wheelchair attendant pushed disabled traveler from the gangway to arrival gate and then abandoned her there without a word. I ended up navigating to baggage claim pushing the wheelchair with both backpacks. There I hired a porter for help to the waiting car.

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank ESPASSOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

To be honest I have never been a big fan of SW, except for short direct flights in state, so I was surprised when flying with them to and from Maui. Flights were on time, even arrived 30 minutes early, the flight attendants were friendly and baggage was quick to arrive at airport. The free entertainment selection was excellent. The 737-800 was roomy and plenty of legroom for this 5'7" leggy lady. Price was extremely low beating other airlines by hundreds of dollars.

Date of travel: January 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank hughesfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020 via mobile

Sure appreciate being able to check a bag for free. Price was great, employees were kind and helpful.

Date of travel: February 2020
Thank skierjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

As always the efficient Happy and reliable crew at Southwest gets it done right. As someone who fls almost weekly for the past 35 years I have reference points from basically most domestic airlines. The total experience with SW is far superior to any other airline.My sister has been with American over 37 years and although they are better than most they can't compare to SW! The fun and friendly staff makes all the difference. They have their 2nd largest Hub in Balto and it makes it very convenient and cost effective to Fly! My family and I LUV SW!

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank michaelgF1624RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.