We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice uneventful flight”
Review of South African Airways


Reviewed 10 March 2020

A very good airline at a very good price for direct flights,meals are as good as any other airline,legroom is one of the best for economy travel,in flight entertainment as good as any.Get you from London to Johannesburg as fast as Virgin or British Airways at a fraction of the price.It is a shame though at this moment in time they are in financial trouble and could go under if not helped.I have flied on SAA many times and would definately fly with them again.

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank JackieEvans2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (4 931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 128 of 4 931 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2020

Very poor experience for a international flight. The crew was rude with passengers, plane was old, dirty and seats are definitely uncomfortable. Some video screens were not working as well. Food and beverage was OK.

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Victor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Functional short haul flight - no frills expected so not disappointed but plane looked very tired, not especially clean perhaps down to the financial issues SAA are going through. Many flights being cancelled at short notice - we were lucky to get ours.

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank SamMac17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Very good flight both ways. Accommodated my food request. Nice to get both hot dinner and breakfast, with proper cutlery. Only downside flip down trays very small. Plenty of legroom. Poor entertainment options.

Date of travel: March 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2020

I have flown SAA before and whilst it was not WOW, one could expect decent service. However, on my trip I noticed the following:
1. Toilets not so clean. These days most airlines have disposable toilet seat liners. Over and above that the toilets just were not clean. These are corona virus times.
2. The airline run out of wine!!! Both white and red! A first on SAA!
I am really hoping that this airline comes out of the dumps. It is a decent airline and the attendants have changed their attitude, they are actually pleasant these days.

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank JenniferM4340
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.