We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MADE MY TRIP SPECIAL”
Review of South African Airways


Reviewed 12 September 2019

I flew from johannesburg to mauritius return for my 24th wedding anniversary. pre booked my seats which were correctly allocated to me. online check in was great. i ordered halaal meal and was served food of great quality and taste. service was great and very friendly. flight was on time on both legs of the journey.

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank ZiyaadErnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (4 932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 456 of 4 932 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2019

Friendly and accommodating cabin crew, flight was on schedule. Interior clean and neat, enjoyed the snacks and drinks served.

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank 165guestg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2019

Oh where to start?! I have flown SAA quit a few times about 15 years ago. It was just a pleasure.
But now, unfortunately, everything has gone down the drain.
1. Online booking and check-in are average. Not great, but it works.

2. The customer service employees are plain arrogant. Do not expect any motivation from them to assist you. If they decide to assist you, one again: do not expect any competence.
Also, CS only available during office hours. Do not try to call them after 20:00

3. The flight was a disaster.
- the entertainment was broken for aprox. 20 passengers
- the food really does not taste good. That is if you were lucky enough to the get the meal of your choice.
- flight assistants once again unfriendly.
- quite a few flight assistants are so obese, that they don't fit in the aisle. That means they are bumping all the passenger's shoulders while doing their routine.

Date of travel: July 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank agro2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2019

We made a booking on line to Fly within Africa ( did not have a choice as more reputable airline does not fly our route). Tried to amend the fligth schedule on line but it seemed that their website has problems. send email- got response to try on line- does not work. Try to phone 12 times SAA office in Australia- had to give up after waiting 20-40 minutes each time.
Have now concern about flight with SAA as heard similar comments from other past travellers

Date of travel: September 2019
1  Thank apartrment
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2019

Although one hears varying comments about SAA, we never find fault & its always a pleasure to fly. Thank you SAA!

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank suehJ5174KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.