We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to and from Cape Town”
Review of South African Airways


Reviewed 29 June 2018

Very comfortable flight with comfortable seats and good leg room.
Pity the cost is so high as I cant afford this airline regularly.
The legroom and seats are actually more comfortable than other airlines I have traveled on domestically.

Date of travel: June 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank lesliehH1399WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (4 847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 495 - 1 499 of 4 847 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2018

Surprisingly, even though we flew economy (not even economy plus) on this almost 16 hour flight from JFK to Johannesburg, the flight was quiet comfortable. We got two seats accross--window and aisle. (Some passengers opted for the seats four in a row and were able to stretch out on unoccupied seats) Service was good and meals were fine. (We're not picky). South African flies older planes so no USB plug-ins. The price was right. The transfer from JNB to Capetown was smooth even when we had to clear immigration and customs in a relatively short time.

Date of travel: May 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank msomachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The only reason anyone should fly SAA is for the cheap flight. I would rather pay more and fly on a normal airline. The legroom in economy is very limited compared to SAA's domestic subsidiary, Mango. SAA used to be the best airline in Africa but they've been overtaken by the Ethopian and Kenyan national carriers.
On my return flight, they left my (and other passengers) checked luggage in Johannesburg and I only received it the following afternoon.

Date of travel: June 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Dasen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The aircraft was a dinosaur, the food barely edible and the service perfunctory. We flew form Capetown to Johannesburg (SA0364), then J'burg to Perth and finally Perth to Melbourne (the last leg with Virgin Australia). The connections were unfavourable with very long waits between flights >5 hours in J'burg and another 5 hours in Perth. This review does not reflect the performance of Virgin Australia which was much better.

Date of travel: June 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank gerardhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

The SAA flight was average. The flight did leave on time, but I have to say that the SAA Biz lounge in OR Tambo is dated and leaves a lot to be desired. You walk past the Emirates lounge to get to the Premium Lounge and can only but wonder when SAA will do something about the décor and general service. In the modern age of the internet which needs to be constant and fast, the premium lounge falls way way short of anything I have experienced of late

Date of travel: June 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank E210VZrobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.