We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Qatar airways is a horrible airline. ”
Review of Qatar Airways


Reviewed 18 June 2023

I had heard great things about Qatar Airways, but after flying with them, the things I had heard were completely wrong. The flight attendants were rude, unprofessional and lazy. When they went put to serve water or refreshments they walked extremely fast and didn't ask anyone if they wanted anything. By the time you figured out what they were doing, they were at the next section laughing. The food on this flight was terrible. I have had a lot of airline food before, and for the most part it has been decent. But the food on Qatar airlines was horrible.
Th seats were the same as other airlines. Not great. The pilot made a very poor decision to hold up the flight to let a passenger off the plane and consequently the flight arrived 2 hours late and half the plane, including myself, missed their connecting flight. When the flight attendants were asked about the delay their responses were just rude and unprofessional. They acted as if everything was a bother to them. They were not the ones missing their flights. But they acted like doing their job was an inconvenience for them. We were given new flights at Doha. Set me back 7hrs. They handed out food vouchers for the inconvenience which amounted to almost nothing as far as the trade in value is concerned. Just a miserable experience from an overrated and miserable airline. I'll never fly Qatar again. Worst airline I have ever used.

Date of travel: June 2023
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
6  Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (35 932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 456 - 1 460 of 35 932 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2023

I am nineteen and I was returning home after studying abroad. On my long 14 hour flight from Doha to Philadelphia I had the misfortune of becoming sick on the plane. It was just a very unfortunate situation, I felt terrible and it probably wasn't very much fun for everyone around me either but all of the Qatar Airways staff was absolutely wonderful and helpful for me. The flight attendants were very professional and followed the medical procedures to get the right medications and treatment for me, and they were also very kind. They checked in on me a lot, and also gave me a change of clothes. So even through it was a bad situation I am really grateful to how the Qatar Airways staff managed it.

And also I am not sure that they will ever see this but I also want to thank the people sitting next to me. It was a man and a woman from the south of India, and they were just such wonderful and kind people. Basically the man moved his seat so I could lie down and the woman was patting my face with a wet cloth even though I was a total stranger, and being able to sleep like that there was probably the only reason I survived the flight. So thank you so much for your kindness, I wish there were more people like you in the world.

Date of travel: June 2023
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank ryleyo802
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2023

I was supposed to flight from Abu Dhabi to Bucharest on June 16 at 02:30, the plane was delayed due to a technical issue and we took off at 05:30 instead, 3 hour difference and we were given a 45 QAR voucher which was not enough for a water and a slice of pizza so we had to pay the difference ourselves. The hostesses were hounding us over things like not having our feet in our shoes (which was done to prevent bacteria growth and smell) and having our phones in the USB port. Cannot rate the food as we were not handed after we were given our vouchers. Really disappointed and will never fly again.

Date of travel: June 2023
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Atilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2023

The first day leaving from larnaca we checked in two hours before... We were in the buisness lounge & arrived at the gate ten minutes before departure. We were not allowed to board because the plane had pulled back from the gate. We watched it sit there for 15 minutes.

We were on our honeymoon and were olbliged to pay $650 / ticket
$1,300 to rebook for the next day because the afternoon flight was cancelled. In addition to the $1,300 for rebooking we had to book a another night hotel in larnaca & and lost the hotel in the maldives
( our final destination)

The next day we arrive several hours early AGAIN.... Arrived at the gate 20 minutes prior to departure and once again the plane was being pulled back... This time we were allowed on. The plane was actually taxing 10 min before departure time! I took note - So so so wrong.

We arrived in DOHA with a short conncetion time but was assurred we would make it- "just run" we were told - so we did

We arrived at gate C 93 fifteen minutes prior to departure only to learn the plane once again had left EARLY. We were again rebooked out of gate C85 at 3am... We sat there without moving not having confidence in Qatar airline.

We were on our honeymoon and lost a day and half in the maldives -
$2,100
Rebooking airline
$1,300
Hotel in larnaca
$187
Taxi to and from airport
$50

We encurred an additional $3,600 in expenses to an already expensive honeymooon vacation. Because of Qatar airways, not to mention loosing valuable time on a special occasion. Both legs of the flights, the plane was half empty.

I travel frequently & without a doubt Qatar airlines should refund all of the added expenses and owe us a sincere appology.
This was our honeymoon and we were excited & timely.... The problem was that Qatar airline was too timely- this statement is exact and evident by the fact that the flight we paid to initially reschedule was moving/taxieing 10 min prior to scheduled departure time.

I request the $3,600 we paid as a result of Qatar airlines practises be refunded and we receive a sincere appology for the needless harsh experience on our honeymoon.

As a result, we lost valuable time that cannot be replaced.

Dr. Edwin Johary

Date of travel: June 2023
4  Thank Mira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2023

I recently had an experience with Qatar Airways that I feel compelled to share, in the hope that it might help future passengers navigate their customer service system more effectively.

I had a flight scheduled from Dubai to Orlando on Monday, June 19, 2023, and decided to change it to Saturday, June 17, 2023. Upon attempting to make the change on Qatar's website, I was directed to an online chat with a representative named Fred. Initially, Fred quoted a fare difference of $719 for two tickets, inclusive of all costs, later adjusting this to $790, which I found acceptable.

My primary issue arose when discussing seating arrangements. Given that my original bookings were in First and Business Class, I expected a similar arrangement in the revised schedule. Fred assured me this would be the case, but post-payment, he stated that he was unable to assign us seats because the flight was the next day and suggested that we handle the seating at the gate.

As a seasoned traveler, I am well aware that gate assignments often result in less-than-ideal seating. This reversal of assurance, in my opinion, mirrors a bait-and-switch tactic and leaves us facing the prospect of disjointed travel, potentially in separate middle seats, a far cry from the comfort we had initially booked and anticipated after spending over $10,000.

I am quite disappointed with this service from Qatar Airways, an airline that is globally acclaimed and has been hailed as superior to others like Delta, American, and Southwest. This incident has compelled me to reconsider these perceptions and consider whether the service quality at Qatar Airways truly surpasses that of its counterparts.

My advice to fellow travelers is to be vigilant when interacting with Qatar's customer service and make sure you have a clear understanding and assurance of all changes before proceeding with payment. I am hopeful that this instance is an outlier in Qatar Airways' usually commendable service and that they will rectify the situation promptly.

My rating today is influenced by this experience and I am hopeful for a resolution that can change this review to a more positive one, reflective of the world-class airline Qatar is reputed to be.

Date of travel: June 2023
3  Thank FreelanceJim2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.