We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Flight Experience”
Review of KLM Royal Dutch Airlines


Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my first time taking KLM flight and hence, I was eager to find out what my flight experience will be like.

I found out that all KLM flights from Singapore to Denpasar, Bali (both ways) are transit flights, and hence, the flight itself was already quite full from Amsterdam.

When I first arrived at Changi International Airport to check-in my luggage, I was rather disappointed that the Chinese counter attendants (not local Singaporeans for sure from how they speak) had demonstrated very poor customer service.

I was next in line and as I was checking my work email (to kill time) while waiting in the queue, I was not aware that there were 2 counters available. Instead of walking to me to grab my attention, the ground staff started to strike their own personal conversation at the counters among themselves and made me wait (even when I was trying to gesture if I can go over). Only when there were more than 2 person joining in the queue that they decided to call me. This had indeed spoiled my initial impression of KLM, especially since I had previously heard many bad stories about this airline.

Fortunately, the on-board service staff saved the organization's image as they were polite and despite the challenge of managing a full flight, they try their best to meet any request you have.

I especially like and applaud how the steward stand firm on safety as it was near touch down and I didnt know, and got up to go to the toilet but was stopped promptly by him - it is my fault but I felt safe that safety and security on flight was not compromised.

On my returned flight, my friend had decided that he does not want to have the special gluten-free meal that we had all pre-ordered (when we booked our tickets). As we were unable to make the change when we did our online check-in, we raise this request to the on-board stewardess and she immediately took down our request and provided us with very clear communications, ie, to let the service staff know during meal time that my friend does not want to special meal.

When all passengers were served with their supper, the lovely stewardess came to check on us to make sure that we are all well taken care of.

Overall, the on-board service staff were great and the flight experience was pleasant. I will recommend KLM to anyone.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22 074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 187 of 22 074 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rude attendant and horrible employee attitudes both in Amsterdam Lounge and on aircraft. Sent an email to customer service and filled out service questionnaire. Received no response from the airline. This airline never ceases to disappoint and I will avoid in the future.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
2  Thank N8588CGlaurab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our flight was a non-stop night flight over the Atlantic and we booked business class to get the best possibility to sleep. I found the staff to be very friendly, and service was of the highest standards. Another plus is the airport lounge access, that makes your wait as pleasant as possible. Food on board is giving a bit more mixed emotions as I noticed quite a difference between evening meal (which was great!) and breakfast which was just OK. Really mixed emotions where caused by the chair in it's sleep mode: I found it impossible to fit my 190cm frame comfortably onto/into the space provided. Chair doesn't flatten fully, so I kept sliding down and a very hard ridge on the lower side of the headrest kept digging into my shoulderblades. I slept in the end, but had hoped for a little more comfort!

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Derk2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have had better service from Easy jet which is about 25 % of the ticket price.

Constantly late for the past 3 weeks, flights packed, forced to check in baggage due to the lack of space.

Despite spending thousands travelling on business on a regular basis. They could not care less !!!!

Avoid !!!!!

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
2  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Flight was uneventful. Dinner was served about an hour into the flight. Good selection of wines and spirits. Pods are comfortable. Cabin was very cold and some passengers were using two comforters. Good selection of movies.
Snack served about an hour before landing was good.
My overhead bin was taken up by crew luggage, which was a bit of a shock. Worked it out.
Boarding process was the usual screw up. Even with Sky Priority, the lines were confusing. The gate attendants stand behind the counter and announce boarding procedures. Need someone actually standing near the line ups and directing people.
Same problem with all flights.
Flight was early.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank mrbill67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC