We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Panama”
Review of Iberia


Reviewed 28 March 2018

Leaving Panama City the week before last was a bit of a muddle. There were two flights leaving at around the same time from adjoining gates, and it was almost inevitable that the two queues (lines) would get mixed up together. For the Iberia flight to Madrid, the queues for the various group numbers were not clearly delineated and there was just a little man walking around calling out the group numbers. Iberia should have posted signs showing clearly where people should be standing. At Tocumen there isn't enough space for people boarding two different flights to wait comfortably without confusion.

Had it not been for an alert check-in official, I might have boarded the adjoining Copa flight and ended up in Medellin!

Date of travel: March 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank 16jamesdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (20 377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 130 - 3 134 of 20 377 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018

I had a connecting flight from Oporto to Marrakech through Madrid, all with Iberia. After arriving with a 40m delay (without any explanation as boarding in Oporto started in advanced and the flight was 10m earlier, but then boarding just took too long...), doors being as far away as possible (from T4 to T4S) and running as much as we could, we got to the door 15 minutes before departure and the flight was boarding (although all passengers had already boarded). Unfortunatelly, we were classified as "missed connection passengers", so they closed the flight and didn't allow us to board. After 30 (at least) our only option was to fly to Paris and arrive to Marrakech 30h after the planned sechedule.
Staff, what to say, they just don't care (27/03, 11:25)! The only explanation I got was that passengers prefer to have their flight on time, so they just don't wait for connecting flights (as I told you, we got to the door 15m before from an Iberia connecting flight!)
I had to cancel my flight to Marrakech! Terrible experience with Iberia.

Date of travel: March 2018
1  Thank mmjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2018

From check in to debarking the staff were on top of everything. The lounge in Madrid is modern and has plenty of seating as well as a good selection of beverages (wines, beers and soft drinks) and the normal coffee and tea selection. The service by the head steward was outstanding from the first introduction to checking on needs during the flight to ensuring that all was prepared for disembarkation. We would select this flight over any other (we have flown this leg several times in the last 24 months on different airlines).

Date of travel: March 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank stephenwR9325MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2018

This was probably the worst long haul flight I have ever endured. Although a daytime flight the blinds were pulled down for most of the time. The seat backs were locked in the upright position (no recline) for the whole 11 hour flight. Food was pretty dreadful and the cabin staff not particularly happy or helpful. At least it arrived on time. I have vowed NEVER to fly Iberia (or BA) again if I can avoid it.

Date of travel: March 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank EarlGrey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2018

The service is extremely poor and the staff in general is very unfriendly.
The boarding in Basel was completely chaotic. They tried to organize per seating order, but people were aleatory queuing, without clear instructions and at the gate some of them were sent back to the end of the queue.
The staff in the airport and crew were not friendly at all. One can imagine that their income must be very very low. I did not see any smile from anyone in that company.

Date of travel: December 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Lucy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.