We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Etihad Airways


Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelled from HYD to JFK, New York, one of the best airlines I have ever travelled with. Excellent service and seat comfort, and foods.

Thank seedhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

seedhunter, nice and short review, thank you so much. Hope to welcome you again soon. Haithem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11 480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 199 of 11 480 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The plane was delayed at Manchester leaving only 1 hour transit at Abu Dhabi. We were rushed through for the connecting flight and just made it. On arrival in Dar Es Salaam there was no baggage.

The airline knew that baggage had been transferred in Abu Dhabi and did not inform us.

The lost baggage desk informed us that the bags were in Abu Dhabi and given the itinerary of our trip and the contact details of the safari company promised that out bags would be delivered en route after 48 hours.

72 hours later the bags arrived in Arusha, but we were on an 8 day safari. Arusha airport would not release the bags to the safari owner even though all details had been shared.

8 days later as instructed we finally got back to Arusha at 3pm (early to collect bags) only to discover they were at an office downtown that would close in less than an hour.

Thankfully we were reunited with the bags on that day for the final 5 days of the holiday.

That is where the issues with Ethad really began. The company appears to have separated responsibility to a different aspect of the company. Placing a claim, which ended up to be £185 (£92.50 per person) for 8 days with no changes of clothes, however this took between July 8th and October 10th to finally be resolved. Numerous emails were sent and ignored, complaints procedures and policies for reimbursement, which should be public. were requested but never shared.

Although the flight was comfortable, when things went wrong Etihad appears to have placed multiple obstacles in the way creating untold frustration.

I would strongly suggest avoiding Etihad if you have a transit, particularly if it is short on time and choose an alternative airline, 2 weeks prior to this I had travelled with emirates with an even shorter transit time with no issues of luggage.

Still had a good holiday but for 8 days in the same clothes and all warm clothes in the lost luggage did make the safari somewhat uncomfortable, but at least it was not a group venture that other people had to put up with it! The lack of communication at all levels, form Etihad representatives at the airports in Dar Es Salaam and Abu Dhabi to the poor communication via email from the baggage claims and even worse from the finance section (they were meant to send an email on payment but 8 days on from payment still yet to hear anything from them) is definitely an airline to be avoided.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
2  Thank neiluk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, we're sorry to learn about this. Please send us your email address and your case number in private message on one of our Social Media channels (Twitter, Facebook, Instagram), so we can follow up on your complaint. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The cabin lay out is better then BA but that's as far as it goes.
Out bound the lounge at Heathrow is small and crowded with a limited range of drinks and food choices.
One good point was the distance from lounge to gate, less then one minute.
On board the wine selection is again limited and not to the level you would expect in business.
After dinner most tried to sleep but the incessant noise from the crew in the galley chatting away made any hope of sleep impossible.
On the second flight this was repeated and on the home bound flights also suggesting that this is a constant on Etihad.
Next time I will pay the extra and go BA or Singapore Airlines.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank LondonMillstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there LondonMillstreet.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. It's disappointing to hear you were not pleased with the overall experience with us.
If there is anything we can do for you, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Regards
Haithem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So far the best service with good food and friendly staff.
Clean flights that make you comfortable on king haul flight. Clean toilets at all times. The flight operated in this route is always Boeing 737 with large number of passengers but still the aircraft and its toilets are clean.
Food is excellent and service impeccable.
Love it,

Thank suresh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there suresh P,

Thank you for sharing this short and wonderful feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the service and the food and beverage options.

Regards
Haithem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked my flight via Virgin, and it was code-shared/operated by Etihad. Having never flown Etihad before, I decided to give them a chance. Bad choice.
Most uncomfortable airline I have flown with.
Old, dirty fleet. Incredibly uncomfortable seats.
The food served on-board is disgusting. Even the vegetarian meals - which are normally fairly nutritious - were almost inedible. Mostly consisted of potato.

Check-in was a complete nightmare. I was not able to check in via Virgin (as the flight seller), or via Etihad website, as I did not book direct. Resulted in a 2 hour wait to check in at counter at Sydney airport, and a 65 minute wait to check in at counter for return flight. This is completely unacceptable.

Transfer process at Abu Dhabi airport is disorganised.

The only compliment I can give this airline is that theor cabin crew are professional and courteous.

Avoid Etihad! Virgin's partnership with them cheapens the otherwise superior Virgin brand.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Taur51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Taur51.

Thank you for reaching out to us.
I am sorry to hear about your experience you had with us. Please forward your complaint to feedbackATetihad.ae. Then the Guest Relations Team can investigate it further.


Kind Regards
Haithem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC