We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Bangkok Airways


Reviewed 8 February 2021

Not happy about flying Bangkok Airways. Probably the most bad flight experience I have ever had. All started with check in and problem with ticket and the staff especially at the check in was not nice at all. First and last time this airline. I fly now AirAsia many times and very happy with this airline to fly in Asia.

Date of travel: March 2020
1  Thank Emil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4 595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 4 595 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2021

This was booked for me, however, the flight was cancelled, all other airlines including Thai Airways provided a refund. But bangkok Airways refused.

Date of travel: April 2020
    • Customer service
    • Value for money
1  Thank F4475FAamyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2021

This flight was cancelled, their airline policy stated that they would refund us up to 31/03/21. but now that I have contacted they said no.

Date of travel: April 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Thanh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 December 2020

Flying right in the middle of the worst part of the Covid epidemic. The airline states that passengers must wear a mask during the flight except for eating and drinking. Great policy which makes sense but the flight staff do nothing to enforce the policy.
They get the drinks and the meals out in a timely way (great), but then disappear for the rest of the flight. The flights are quite short anyway, less than 1.5 hrs. This has got to be one of the most simple things to do, more important than seat positions during landing.
The lounge at the Krabi airport is nothing special at all.
The boarding at Bangkok International loaded us onto buses to reach the plane. Why? A million empty gates at an empty airport! Totally not necessary.
Finally, absurd rules about getting to the airport way ahead of flight time to check a bag which of course not really enforced and aggravated by a lack of staff to man the counters and check in the flight in Bangkok. Yes, my time is valuable also.
They can and should do better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Lastly, they are flying old planes.. I was on an old Airbus 320 built in 2005.

I can't help mentioning that I was amused to watch the passenger across from me, a young man, steal (yes, that is right) his entire meal and plate from the airline. As I said, the crew is not paying attention. That was a first during my years of flying.

Date of travel: December 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank drwizardsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 December 2020 via mobile

Refused to let me board the plane because the digital boarding pass generated by their mobile website was a screen capture of the pass and not the actual pass. Like it is EXACTLY the same thing..no one can exain why except to say that it is a policy. You cannot regenerate the pass once you leave the page, as it says "you are already checked in". Every single other airline i have flown accepts a digital image of the digital pass...that is why it is called a digital boarding pass. Just another stupid policy made up by so idiot in head office, designed to complicate and frustrate the travel experience.

Date of travel: December 2020
1  Thank anthonymS9092ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.