We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pls do not use Air India (SFO to DEL)”
Review of Air India


Reviewed 7 June 2024

Pls do not use AIR INDIA flight from SFO to DEL. This is worst flight I have taken.
--Broken seats and seat covers were teared off.
--In-flight entertainment system was not working for 99% of economy passengers. Even if this will work, entertainment system is 50 years old.
--Passengers have to ask crews how long it will take to reach to destination as there is no screen to tell you how much time left in reaching destination.
--Drinks were served in paper glass and started leaking.
--Food trays were super dirty and food quality was average.
-- Flight was very very old and looks like Uttar Pradesh roadways bus.

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Mudit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (9 812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 97 of 9 812 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2024

The airline should be ashamed selling tickets and not informing passengers that most screens on their flights do not work, spend 12 hours looking at the ceiling, un edible food and staff that do not care and even told me air india are aware the screens do not work and do not inform passengers. AC on the flight does not work correctly, first flight ever in my tshirt for the whole flight due to the hot temperature. You may want to take this flight to save money, but believe me its worth paying a little extra and using a airline that actually provides a proper service. Would never use this airline again ever.

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank TashK_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2024

Creaky old aircraft, Boeing 777 -200 series, with broken seats having difficult to access seat and flight entertainment equipment. There was no internet???? on flight. Inflight entertainment didn't have live news channel. Within one hour into the flight, jokingly, I requested the cabin crew lady for a parachute to escape further ordeal. Poker faced she gave pre-scripted & rehearsed reply that the plane was a last minute replacement and that this one was to be flown on DEL-London route??? I wouldn't trust it beyond Delhi Dubai sector.

Welome snack was a highly spicy Kathi Roll, seems to be fav of their F&B Manager. Inflight food was less than average. There was no open refreshment counter in the pantry. Reluctant cabin crew provided refreshments when approached. Many other Airlines provide lounge facility to Premium Economy passengers, but not Air India.

Except direct non stop feature between Delhi and San Francisco everything else was an forgetable experience.

Date of travel: June 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank SURENDER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2024

The entertainment system had up to date films on it. My only gripe is that they should serve more drinks. I have 34.5 inch legs and sitting in an aisle seat gave me enough leg room.

Date of travel: April 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank 803patrickm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2024

With my girlfriend, we paid a flight tickets, from Phuket Thailande to Vienna Austria, all operated by AirIndia. The plane was supposed to departure at 9:15 the 30/05/24 from Phuket and land in New Delhi at 12:20, where we should take another flight at 14:05 from Delhi to Vienna and arrived at 18:35 the 30/05/24.
The fact is that the plane departure from Phuket has been 2 hours late, and we arrive too late in New Delhi to have our connection flight. So we had to go to AirIndia helps desk, to find a way to reach Vienna.
This has been one of the worst travel experience of all our life:
We stayed 5hours in New Delhi airport at the help desk. No one were able to tell us where we will go, what about our luggage, nothing, no information….5hours in a waiting room completely full, with no restaurant and beverage (because we couldn’t access the main airport area without ticket) and not enough seated place. We had one employee taking care of our case, taking our plane tickets and disappearing for 2 hours and no news. Nothing. We had to ask another one again…
We finally, after 5 hours, started to be really annoyed by the situation that no one helped us, and we finally got a ticket to go from Delhi to Dubai with air India (we had just 40 minutes to check in and get into the plane, and we saw after that we could definitely get something before but the AirIndia staff clearly forgot about us many times) and then we had to wait 11hours in Dubai, to get our last flight to arrive in Vienna.
From their services, we received nothing. Not a sorry, no food, no beverage, nothing….
And we finally arrived at Vienna the 31/05/24 at 13:40….This is 19h of delay of what was normally scheduled ….
It was definitely one of the worst travel experiences of our life.

We asked for indemnisation for all of this with the airIndia care, and they said just sorry but will not do anything for us.

Take another airline , really….

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank richarddY3599QQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.